We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!! staff excellent, ride was really informative and good fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ride The Ducks of San Francisco - CLOSED

Ride The Ducks of San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience sightseeing on the best San Francisco Duck Tour. Travel on land and water in an amphibious vehicle crafted from the WW II DUKW. RIDE through San Francisco’s historic streets and neighborhoods. SPLASH down into the bay and cruise McCovey Cove. QUACK along with the Captain as he en-tour-tains you with stories of past and present. Drive the duck if you want! The only duck tour in San Francisco with the famous Wacky Quackers™.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
bury manchester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Brilliant!! staff excellent, ride was really informative and good fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

definately recommend this trip, the staff were amazing, and funny, the trip was really good, and took us to places in san fran we wouldnt otherwise have seen, and then in the water, and round alcatraz. Good length too, and you get to keep the duck whistles. We didnt have kids with us but had so much fun on this and the kids that went loved it. Even getting a chance to drive the bus in the water! definately recommend this trip to anyone going to San Francisco in the future.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank michellecardno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    88
    37
    11
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our tour director was great, a very funny man. Very knowledge about the city - his speaker system wasn't working the best. The driver was a very knowledgeable land tour guide it was unfortunate the water was rough so we really didn't have that much water time(which is out of the companies control). I was thankful though that we did turnaround and go back to land since the boat was rocking a bit too much for me. Safety was number one. Kids would love this tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank npalmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My son loved this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

He had a great time riding in this vehicle and so did my sister. My sister said he had so much fun he didn't mind going to an art museum afterward.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
140 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 909 helpful votes
“Important Tips - should you use duck tours?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We visited on 10/27/12. The city council passed a NEW ordinance that took effect three days ago. Tour buses within the city need to lower the volume of their speakers so the don't distract the neighbors as much as the did in past.

As a result, it's a LOT more difficult to hear the commentary.

If you or anyone in your group has average or worse hearing AND if the commentary is important to you THEN I would ask some people getting off the tour before you - could you hear and understand it? We couldn't, much of the time.

Since I was travelling with four kids, it didn't matter that much. The general chaos and the duck quacking noise makers were more important and we had a great time. For couples without kids, you might need a different choice.

It's cheaper to book on line than at the site where you board the tour.

Be aware the time in the water is pretty limited and in a very non-scenic part of the bay. There are other boat tours that are better options for this. I see the target market for this company being kids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lwelshCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Guest Relations Manager at Ride The Ducks of San Francisco, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
To our valued guests:

Recently San Francisco Board of Supervisors enacted a regulation by tour buses traveling in San Francisco to address resident concerns regarding noise pollution. It was a concern that the noise control requirements on mechanical and other fixed noise sources in San Francisco will reduce annoyance, sleep disturbance, and a variety of health problems associated with stress response to noise. The ordinance passed requires open-top tour buses to have stereoe sound systems that are not audible from 50 or more feet away. Parking citations may be issued to to vehicles that exceed noise restrictions.

In accordance with the requirements of San Francisco; Ride The Ducks installed noise reduction monitors on our vehicles. On our first day of operation with the devices in place we noticed that they reduced the volume to levels that make our tours less audible than intended. We have since conducted further tests on these devices and adjusted their setttings to make the overall experience more enjoyable for our guests.

We strive to provide the best possible tour in San Francisco! We want all of our guests to leave with the most Quack-tastic experience they ever could have!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun tour around streets AND the bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Converted WW2 amphibious vehicles piloted by entertaining characters makes this a worthwhile addition to a city visit.The Skipper/Driver gives an informative narrative as we drive around the city and the bay,where he encourages the kids and anyone else to take a turn at the wheel.Great value for a 90 minute tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ride The Ducks of San Francisco also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing