We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
$279
$169
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$349
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$299
$275
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 08/02
Book now, pay at stay
$259
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
$336
$236
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$311
$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $320/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
Free cancellation until 08/01
Book now, pay at stay
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 08/01
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 08/01
$365
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,281)
Filter reviews
1,281 results
Traveler rating
307
547
281
88
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
547
281
88
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlehomeless peopleshuttle serviceellis streethotel shuttlegreat hotelwaffle machineunion squaretenderloin districtrooftop terracecomplimentary breakfasthard boiled eggsfisherman's wharfthe hotel offersyogurttop floorthe hotel is clean
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,281 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2016

The hotel is average
There is no AC in the rooms, which makes it horrible in the middle of the day
The location is very central and you can easily make it to all the points of interest in town, but it is really not worth staying in the middle of the most hobble neighbourhood I've seen in my all life!!

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katushu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Good day Katushu,
Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the Cova Hotel. We are so sorry that we were unable to provide the Comfort and Value which Cova stands for. We understand your concerns about the location in which we try our very best to educate our guests on where to go and what to do in San Francisco. Out hotel is in a very diverse location in the city. We hope that you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle which takes guests to and from Fisherman's Wharf, Japan town, and Union Square. We apologize that our rooms do not have AC units. San Francisco is not generally a hot location so therefore we try our best by providing the in room fan in the room to assist on those irregular hot days in the city. Thank you very much for staying with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any concerns or questions that you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016 via mobile

Great hotel has everything you want. In the center of SF and yes its in a bad neighborhood but the free shuttle from the hotel takes care of that ! Friendly staff, complimentary breakfast and a breathtaking rooftop. 5+

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sv19890306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Good day SV,
Thank you for your great review concerning your stay at the Cova Hotel. We are so happy and pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and found our hotel to be of Comfort and Value which Cova stands for. We are lucky to have a great staff here who loves to help our guests to the best of their ability. Hopefully you took a lot of pictures of our rooftop terrace because the views are great. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the very near future. Take care always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2016

Took a trip out to San Francisco on a wing and didn't have any plans or fun stuff to do for the weekend. The Cova Hotel rooms were nice and had transportation to certain places in the city. We ask the lady at the front desk by the name of Shadon on what was enjoyable but away from the city to do. She referred us to Muir Woods which from the hotel had so many things to do within a miles from the hotel. Thanks Cova Hotel and Shadon for a wonderful time I will be back in SF soon.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Hi Kevin,
I hope that this message finds you well. Thank you very much for you wonderful review of the Cova Hotel. We love your style in how you came to San Francisco on a wing. Those types of trips are always the best and most memorable. Thank you for your kinds words about our rooms and especially our staff member Shadon. She always gives great recommendations on things to do when guests are visiting the city. We are hoping you took many pictures while you were here. We are looking forward to assisting you in the near future and if there is ever anything that you need... please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Take care always and may you have many more successful trips to come! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

This is an average hotel in an average part of town, as there is a church that feeds the homeless on the same block. The streets are so noisey from the vagrants below we could here it from the 6th floor all night, then you have the drilling and banging from the construction site next door. The staff were happy to move us to the other side of the building but it was not that much better. The front desk staff very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean but are in need of some updating, not what you expect from a city with such a high cost of living. The included breakfast next door in the cafe is not walking downstairs for, I'm glad it was not an extra cost..... unless you want eggs or bacon, very dissapointing. The lifts in the building drove me mad, getting stuck on every floor. Really bad in the mornings when the cleaning team is up and about.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Good day Michael,
Thank you for your honest feedback of the Cova Hotel. We are truly sorry that we were unable to provide you with the Comfort and Value which Cova stands for. We understand your concerns about our location in which we hope you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle which takes guests to Fisherman's Wharf, Japan town, and Union Square. We try our very best to educate the guests on which routes to take when walking in our very diverse neighborhood. We thank you for your kinds words about our friendly and helpful staff. We will surely try harder to make future stays as Comfortable as possible. Thank you and take care always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel because it's very clean and the staff was very friendly. The lady at the front desk, Shadon, checked us in and she was so helpful and made me and my family feel at home :)

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Salvan, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Hi Tiffany,
We hope that this message finds you well. Thank you for your great scoring of the Cova Hotel. We are so pleased to know that Shadon was able to make your stay extra pleasant and memorable. Indeed, your are considered Cova family now that you have stayed with us and experienced the Comfort and Value which COVA stands for. Take care always and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews