We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An adequate hotel, but beware!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #95 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An adequate hotel, but beware!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

San Francisco has a very large homeless population and unfortunately this hotel is located very near a homeless shelter which means the streets in the immediate vicinity are filled with them. This discount hotel does a very good job of providing the basics...reasonably comfortable beds, decent water pressure for showering, and a complimentary breakfast to boot. And all personnel are very courteous and friendly. It is NOT, however, safe to walk the streets of this neighborhood which is in the tenderloin district. The hotel does provide a shuttle to four popular areas which is helpful. If that schedule doesn't fit your needs, you should plan on using cabs. All in all a decent enough place to crash for the night. Just beware of your surroundings when you venture outdoors.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzieq0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Greetings Suzieq0520,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

As to any major city in the united states, homelessness is always one of the issues that is being encountered at all times. Though this maybe the norm, the city of San Francisco has truly improved to address this issue over the years and still continues to get better every year. Based on your review, i'm glad that this didn't completely diminished your stay at the hotel. We strive to provide excellent service and cater to all guest needs as much as possible. From our complimentary amenities and services, i'm happy that it suited your needs.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    420
    208
    70
    41
See reviews for
219
337
60
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We enjoyed our 3-nights-stay at the Cova very much! The tidy, amply and calm room provides all you need. The best were the staff: very friendly and helpful. When entering we felt like home. Many thanks and compliments to them!
As other tripadvisor users mention in their reviews, there are a lot of homeless people in the vicinity, but not only there: you see them in the whole city. So, no difference if you would stay at another hotel. Location perfect, 10 minutes walking distance to Union Square, free Shuttle bus to several sights. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lumedaa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Greetings Lumedaa87,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. It's rewarding for me as a manger to hear that my employees made a significant impact during your stay and they made you feel home away from home. I will make sure to share your review to all of them. We pride ourselves in provide excellent service and we always try our best to go above and beyond to make sure that all guests are taken cared of as much as possible. I'm glad to hear that the location didn't bother you at all and that it was a good fit for your needs as well.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The rooms are kept very clean, breakfast is good, staff is very helpful and the price is very reasonable. Even the parking with in and out was reasonably priced for a city like Downtown San Francisco. I am only concerned about the neighbourhood at night as there were drunken people screaming in the middle of the night and garbage truck dumping at 4am which woke me up several times.

Room Tip: try to get higher floors not facing ellis street
See more room tips
Green Features: very good that they exercise this, I only stayed 2 nights though.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank occasionshucchou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Greetings aweiys,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Our parking is indeed very reasonably priced. In fact, we offer one of the cheapest rates available in the city. Thank you for bringing your concerns in regards to the neighborhood but i hope you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service. Also, we do apologize for the noise sounds that the garbage truck from the city created. Unfortunately, we have no control on their pick up times and schedule since it comes from the city of San Francisco. On the other hand, i would certainly try to bring this concern to the city office for future consideration.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this great hotel. The rooms were very clean and modern, staff were extremely helpful and kind and they went out of their way to help us wherever possible. The neighbourhood is fine to walk around in during the day, although the hotel offers free shuttles should you wish to avoid doing so. As in many areas of a big city, and as 2 girls, taxis are probably preferable at night - the hotel staff were happy to book us taxis so this is not a major problem. Overall a great hotel, I would definitely return and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Greetings Agnewg,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and experience with us. From the extremely helpful staff and room cleanliness, these are a few things that we provide and offer that certainly makes our hotel a top hotel to stay in San Francisco.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I was totally misguided by the reviews here. It is quite scary at night because of all the people in the surrounding area. I arrived late and the only lady that was "in charge" of the front desk doesn't even speak good English and was rude. I reserved a 2 bedroom and was totally not what I got. There was no manager in premises and she refused to give me a refund. I was not a happy camper at all.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Adriana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Greetings Adriana O,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

First off, i would like to again apologize for the issues you experienced while staying with us but i'm glad that we were able to speak with you while you were still staying at the hotel. We were able to rectify the issues and based from the feedback you shared with us, you were satisfied with the resolution that we did for you.

In hope that you can stay at the Cova Hotel and give us another chance. Please contact me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com and i will make sure to take good care of you. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

While the hotel is not in exactly the best location they more than make up for it. The staff was excellent. The free breakfast was a great bonus as well as free shuttle to various locations throughout San Fran. Rooms were clean and I felt safe once inside. If I were to redo the trip I would book here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AliciaLLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Greetings AliciaLLynch,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and experience with us. From the excellent staff service, complimentary breakfast and shuttle service to various locations in the city, these are a few things that we provide and offer that certainly makes our hotel a top hotel to stay in San Francisco.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was a wonderful hotel with excellent staff. Rooms were spotless and clean. The rooms are pretty spacious. What turned me off was that it was in a sketchy neighborhood. There were a lot of homeless people which is expected being in San Francisco, but still sketch. People would be popping out of no where, and just eerie things were going on. But, as soon as I got in the hotel I was safe and secure. I would definitely plan on staying there again. Ps: Want a good dinner? Go to their restaurant next door, their mashed potatoes were amazing.

Room Tip: Make sure not to be out and about late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia75299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Greetings Cynthia75299,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us due to the service and cleanliness of the hotel. On the other hand, i do apologize that the location of the hotel was not a good fit for you but i hope you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service. Thank for the kind remarks in regards to our new restaurant, Mr. Crave. I will make sure to pass on the good news to their management team.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#30 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#74 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Opal San Francisco
#114 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#152 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,647 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Property: Cova Hotel
Address: 655 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing