We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, bad neighborhood.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #94 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, bad neighborhood.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Central location, nice hotel, nice rooms, parking at a reasonable fee, breakfast included. The only problem is the neighborhood: homeless people, people using marijuana at daylight time. Just need to be careful when walking around the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcolopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    464
    231
    77
    46
See reviews for
246
387
67
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

You get what you pay for at the Cova, At best It's an OK hotel, a few of the staff need to sue the charm school, not sure what continent the continental breakfast comes from, the only hot thing on the menu is the toast if you have the patience to wait for it to go round the conveyer a few times!.. the bathroom had lovely piping hot water, the beds were the most comfertable I've ever slept in, the Cova is very close to Union square and the cable car stop for fishermans wharf.
Would I stay there again? Yes I would.

The area however is a real eye opener, I wouldnt like to be on those streets after dark, ladies were offering their company at $10!!! and the constant cry of "can you spare some change" is still ringing in my ears..I travelled with my adult son, as such it wasnt so bad, I certainly wouldnt have liked to arrive there with a young family..overall the Cova is fine but i recommend you use taxis or the hotel shuttle when comming and going from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leight4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me, my mom and sister were planning a girls trip to San Francisco but when we searched for hotels, they were all very expensive. We were ready to give up when my sister found the Cova and it was a great value. At first we were reluctant to book it because of the area it's in but my sister was told by the hotel staff when booking that there are some homeless people around Tenderloin but they are harmless. We were glad that we did book with them. The staff is very friendly and accommodating to your needs. They offer free shuttle to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. Union Square is also walking distance which is nice if you don't want to wait for the shuttle. They offer free breakfast which was nice because we saved money everyday not having to buy it. The hotel has free wifi which worked very well. The rooms were spacious and modern looking even though it's an older hotel. If we needed extra towels or toiletries, the cleaning staff was very accommodating. The front desk staff was also very informative on attractions, tours and restaurants to visit. There was a gym which came in very handy every morning. The hotel is very safe as you need your room key to use the elevator and the rooms. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edmontonian1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Lovely neat , clean and modern rooms. Reception is also modern. Security is good, as homeless people tend to wander into buildings. You needed your key card to enter. Felt very safe. Great value. They have free shuttle at set times. To Drop and collect. You need to phone 30 mins before hand, being six we found at times that it was full and could not take us all. A complimentary breakfast is offered but only opens at seven, however the one morning we could utilise it the breakfast room was only opened at 7.30 so we were not able to make use of it, but from what we saw it had a nice variety.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucketlist500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during the last weekend in December 2012, and it was definitely pleasant. We didn't have any problem with noise. The room seemed very clean and well-kept. Our room with a King bed was pretty large, however, it took a while to get the room even remotely warm since the heater just blows out one vent and there aren't any temperature controls.... The lobby was really nice as well--open, but cozy with the "fireplace" and sitting area. The valet service was convenient, though it was $25 a night (in-and-out is fine). Also, the hotel has a shuttle that will take you to and from the airport (usual), but also to and from Pier 39, Fisherman's Warf. You do have to let them know ahead of time when you want to leave and get picked up, but they had no problem accommodating us, even though we were the only ones who took the shuttle that day. This was awesome--no worrying about getting around in a strange and busy place, or having to park...or fore go the giant margarita at Bubba Gump's!
The continental breakfast was nice as well. They had stuff to make sandwiches, coffee, juice, milk, cereal, a waffle maker... there weren't any pastries, but the waffles sufficed just fine, and definitely enough food to fill you up. We would definitely stay here again, as it wasn't hard to find, park our car or anything else. Not the best neighborhood... but we didn't have any problems at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Cova during a recent conference in SF. The price was unbeatable and it allowed me to stay for 1 week with the budget I had for 4 days of conference. The hotel itself is nice, nothing fancy, but the rooms are spacious, have a nice comfortable bed and a desk, and the free wifi works well. The bathroom had been recently upgraded and although you could tell it was an old room the furniture and look was very modern. The provided breakfast is plentiful although not varied. But you always have ham, cheese, bread, cereals, biled eggs and a hot waffle machine. If you eat late in the morning it takes care of lunch as well. The only concern is the neighbourhood, particularly is you are travelling by yourself and you plan to walk at night. There are many homeless shelters around it, and the street has a colorful crowd that stays away from you but at night is a bit sketchy. Otherwise in this hotel you are within walking distance to most of the downtown core attractions, nobb hill and the civic centre. I would definitely stay here again if im looking for great value for my money.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back of the hotel get very nice morning sun and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver British Columbia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. It was very nicely appointed, from the attractive natural stone entrance, lobby fireplace and well furnished room. The staff was helpful when we needed a sewing kit and some extra hangers and arranging the shuttle bus to the airport. The hotel provided a free shuttle to Union Square. We also used the business centre to print our boarding passes. I really liked the roof top breakfast room. It had spectacular views of the city on three sides. We had the same kind of breakfast we would have at home, with the addition of waffles which my kids liked. A big plus was the location next to some great restaurants. The food was so delicious in each one we had a hard time going on to a different restaurant the next night. They were also very reasonably priced. This helps the budget conscious traveller. The Red Crawfish was superb. It is just across the street. The Golden Kim Tar Chinese restaurant is a couple of blocks down Larkin Street. The Burmese Kitchen is just next door on Larkin. The Vietnam II Seafood restaurant is at Ellis and Larkin. All were delicious. The Cova hotel is very good value since it is quite reasonably priced. It is in an area that is supposed to be less desireable, but we did not find any difficulty with it. We had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varty_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Opal San Francisco
#99 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Property: Cova Hotel
Address: 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing