We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with lovely staff in a part of central with quite a few homeless”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #94 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with lovely staff in a part of central with quite a few homeless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with friends, as part of our trip across America and we enjoyed our stay.

Service:
We arrived early so our room wasn't yet available but the reception staff gladly stored our luggage in a secure room for us and gave us a sheet to show them when claiming it back later detailing number of pieces etc.
Reception staff were very polite in this hotel. As we couldn't check-in the receptionist suggested places nearby where we could have lunch whilst waiting, and we ended up eating at this lovely Thai restaurant around the corner, which was very well priced and absolutely delicious.
Upon leaving, we had an early morning flight and the reception staff helped us organise a shuttle bus to the airport as the trains wouldn't be working yet and taxis are more expensive.
Breakfast was also very tasty - although the line for the waffle machine (where you poor your own waffle mix into it and wait for a few mins for it to cook) can get a bit tedious by the second day. But lots of fruit and coffee etc

Value:
For what we paid, I felt this hotel was more than adequate. We booked through ebookers into a room with 2 double beds.

Sleep quality:
The beds were very comfortable to sleep in, especially after a long, hard day of sight-seeing! But one can't stay in bed when in SF. Our sleep was not disturbed by any surrounding noise or anything.

Cleanliness:
The hotel was very clean, from the lobby to the elevators and corridors and the room and bathroom was cleaned daily.

Location:
Situated in a very accessible part of town, very near to plenty of public transport and literally hundreds of places to eat. The hotel is in Little Saigon so there are plenty of Vietnamese and Thai restaurants around, which have great service and serve impeccable food.
The other thing to say about the location is, of course, about the homeless people outside. There is an area to the right of the hotel where there is a large homeless shelter, and plenty of vagrants hang around there, more so at night but also during the day. Staff showed us on a map at check-in not to turn right out of the hotel so as to avoid that area, so we always turned left.
There is a small convenience store at the end of the street, (just after the youth hostel) where the counter got robbed whilst we were there.

Rooms:
Our room was quite small for a room with 2 double beds and the bathroom was excessively large - they should have designed it so you have that room int he bed-room instead (then overall it would be the same size). The room had the usual flat screen TV, desk and free wifi.

Overall I wouldn't let the homeless issue put me off staying here and I would stay again as the hotel is excellent value. Just don't walk around here alone at night. I would say that most of SF has homeless (as it has the largest homeless population of any city in the world), so if you want to avoid homeless you are gonna have to stay away from SF completely - which I wouldn't advise as we had a lovely time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackNLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    464
    231
    77
    46
See reviews for
246
387
67
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I had no complaints with the hotel. Great staff very helpful, lovely room with all amenities one would need. Breakfast exceeded exceeded expectations i thought it would be just basic continental but there were fresh waffles boiled egg ham and chucken meat toast fresh jiuces nutella and jam for spreads.

The location was not too far from union square but would nit reccommend walking alone at night however i did not experience
any problems.

The staff were soo helpful

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here when in holiday in San Francisco for three days. I don't actually know how much the hotel was as we booked a all in one with several flights and hotels.
The first impression we got of the hotel wasn't great,because we walked from the metro station to the hotel which was six blocks away, but we passed alot of homeless people, so instantly thought we were in a bad area.
When we got into the hotel, it was all fine. We were greated by Michael at the reception, who we became friends with.He and the other members of staff were very friendly, they were always quick to answer a question, and were very helpful. Being new to San Francisco we asked Michael to search for the nearest and best Indian restaurants, and he didn't fail. He googled one for us on yelp, with very high reviews, which was on O Farrell street, called Lahore Karahi. Lets just say we had three nights in San Francisco, and we ate there twice....Amazing food!!!!
The hotel room was nice, the bed was very comfy, had no complaints there.
The hotel also provides a shuttle service that you can book, from the hotel to union square, or fisherman's wharf. You have to book this service in advance, and it is a very useful service, as all the main shops are in union square and not far, it can get to be a bit of a walk.
The hotel also provide a shuttle service from the hotel to the airport for $15 a person I think, we used this as had a very early flight.
The continental breaksfast at the hotel was nice, it was a nice change from having full breakfasts everyday. I think the choice they had was good, They have a couple of selections of meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, toasts, juices, cereals, fruits, spreads, and you can even make your own hot waffles.
One tip, just be careful about walking outside the hotel at night, there are some homeless people about, am sure they're harmless, but don't let that put you off the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fifth floor, which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelite000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrücken
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in the Cova Hotel in S.F. for three nights during our West Coast road trip in June 2012. The hotel lies in Tenderloin, which isn’t the best location in S.F, but you can reach almost every S.F. attraction walking. We saw some drug deals on the street and some people looked pretty aggressive. The hotel itself is clean (cleaned every day), rooms are spacious and staff is very friendly. There is free wifi on the hotel.
Parking is pretty expensive, we payed about $100 for 72 hours.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mwsb1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

With a bit of luck, the right attitude and some adjustments, this hotel is a good choice. Yes, the location is gross, but it's also in walking distance to many fun areas.

GOOD: Hotel is modern and clean
Friendly staff
Comfortable beds
Windows open wide
Nice, large bathroom
Free breakfast
Walking distance to Union Square and even Giants Stadium
Free wi-fi

MEH: Cleaning staff are loud in hallways
$25 valet parking fee, not many comfortable alternates in area
No direct room service, but ordering options available and some restaurants close by.
No fridge, coffee maker
TV not great, but who needs it in SF.

EEK: Area is stinky and sad and will freak out a sensitive visitor. For the rest of us it's not a
big deal. Assume lower level rooms facing Ellis aren't as nice
No trash bin in room, only recycle and one in bathroom.
Light from TV power indicator is really bright at night ( I covered it )

Room Tip: Level 5 and up, not facing Ellis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5StarBohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel: Clean, comfy beds, good facilities, recent renovation, very helpful staff, complimentary continental breakfast, free wifi (temperamental), hotel shuttle bus to tourist hot spots, noisy outside.

Location: TENDERLOIN! High homeless population on the hotels door step. OK it's safe to walk down the street during the day, HOWEVER, you will walk past a number of homeless people a long the way, accompanied by a strong smell of cannabis or urine in the air. Most will leave you alone, some will ask you for money, some just want to talk to you. In the evening, it's a no go, not so much because of the homeless, but people hanging around on the streets.

Due to the location, this limited what we could do in the evening as even our tour bus suggested that tourists should not walk the tenderloin after dark. Taxi is $20 there and back to get you out of the area. Yes the hotel runs a shuttle but you don't want to be clock watching on holiday to keep with the shuttles schedule. Nor do you want to dodge the homeless like a computer game every time you leave the hotel and walk a few blocks.

Room Tip: Spend more money and stay nearer union square, there's more going on and feels safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r10ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce P, Guest Satisfaction Ambassador at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello r10ley,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and it’s our pleasure for having you here at the Cova recently.

We are located in the tenderloin, which is very unique part of San Francisco. Our front desk agents are knowledgeable at advising our guests which area or streets to avoid. Also, our complimentary shuttle is at your disposal to zip you through the main parts of the city. As much as we want to accommodate all our guest, we do have to run it in a schedule to service multiple destinations within the city. Our complimentary Wi-Fi access is also one of our hotel’s amenity that we get a lot of good feedback on, but please let us know which specific areas of the hotel you were having wi-fi challenges so we can have it fixed.

We pride ourselves on customer service, and we are glad that you have given us a chance to experience our hospitality. If you have time, I would love to touch base with you regarding your stay. Please contact me at joyce@covahotel.com or at 415.771.3000 ext. 1127.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel because the description said it was close to Union Square. (Wrong!) I had read that it was not in the best location but that you would be fine. WRONG! We got in late the first night and the streets were lined with homeless people. The next morning we got up and followed the route the hotel staff told us to follow. I have never been so scared in my life. People with mask running around and screaming. We quickly came back to the hotel and checked out. If you think you'll be fine staying in this area, do yourself a favor and google, "San Francisco Tenderloin."

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce P, Guest Satisfaction Ambassador at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Lindsie S,

Thank you for staying at the Cova Hotel recently and we appreciate your time in sharing your experience with us.

Our neighborhood is a very popular and unique part of San Francisco. There are homeless shelters a couple of blocks away from the property which we advise to all our guests. Though there is little we could do with the city life surrounding our hotel, we try to maximize on the added value for the guests ones they are at the property. One of these added values is our complimentary shuttle, that guests could take advantage. Our shuttle runs every day from 8am-10pm, with scheduled drop off and pick up at the Fisherman’s Wharf, Union Square and Moscone Center.

I would like to get more information regarding your recent stay, when you get a chance, kindly contact me at joyce@covahotel.com or 415.771.3000 ext. 1127.

Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Opal San Francisco
#99 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Property: Cova Hotel
Address: 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing