We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Cova Hotel”
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #95 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Cova Hotel”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We arrived at Cova Hotel on our honeymoon!! Checked in and got a free upgrade. 5 stars to Lotoya!! We were delighted. Wow, what a room....bigger than the bottom half of our house at home....fantastic room. No complaints at all....very clean and fresh....Great Hotel
Lovely staff. Very helpful and friendly! Guided us in the right direction for everything. The free shuttle bus is great and cheap way of travelling. Free breakfast every morning! Not much of a choice but done us fine until we got out to our destination.
Yes the tenderlion area is right on the doorstep, but seriuosly NOTHING to worry about. Its fine to walk by in the day time, but a bit scary at night time, so taxi back to the hotel. An eye opener.... You can walk to union square in ten mins. Easy to get to. You find your way around and different streets to use after a day or two.
Fishermans Wharf is excellent and plenty to do, so make sure to visit.
Alcatraz amazing!!! Make sure to book your tickets online a week or two before you go to San Francisco to avoid dissapointment, as you will not get a ticket daily.
Golden Gate Bridge amazing!!! Make sure to walk the bridge for amazing views and experience.
Bring a jacket or warm clothing as San Francisco is cold. We got two nice days and two cold days. The hop on/hop off bus was great way of seeing the city, so make sure to do that.

Overall, delighted with our stay in San Fran. Would defo recommend COVA Hotel... :)

Room Tip: Use the shuttle bus as often as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    476
    239
    77
    48
See reviews for
251
404
67
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I really recommend this hotel!!! The area wasn't not the most chic but still worth it. The staff are very friendly. Rooms are modern and comfortable, bathrooms are new and with a lots of goodies.
They have free internet, free (very good!) breakfast and free shuttle service to Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf many times a day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is my first trip to San Francisco and I received a very warm welcome from Mr Mark G and Mr Bhunthan P at COVA. They were really humble & sweet and checked us in as quick as possible !! Excellent room, very clean, quick check in and the staff was very cooperative and helpful. They guided us to the best tours available around !! We had options to stay at Marriott & Hilton at discounted prices but we chose COVA and that was the right one !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyj1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The area wasn't brilliant but with very specific and caring directions you can be in Union Square in 10 mins walking. The hotel also provide a free shuttle service to Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel provides a free breakfast and has a great rooftop area. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the staff are extremely helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy63_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were very pleased with the clean and friendly enviroment. The only draw back was the neighborhood was not the best. But we had no problems getting around. Angelo and the staff were very fun to deal with . They went out of their way to make our trip comfortable. If you are looking for a clean updated and a great price. Don't be put off by the surroundings. Shuttles take you were you need to go.
Cheryl, Lodi Ca.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylh282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Cova hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. For the price we could not have found a better hotel. They offer a great shuttle service which is a life saver in a city that has absolutely no parking anywhere, well unless you want to pay an arm and a leg. The staff was so friendly and helpful especially when it came to recommending activities, tours, and restaurants. The only complaints we have is that the walls are a little thin and you can hear everything that is going on next door to you and while the breakfast was wonderful and convenient, it would have been better if they had two waffle makers due to the long wait. We will be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our stay at Cova was wonderful. The room was very clean and the bathroom was modern and clean. We were given the option of which floor and whether we wanted a quiet room towards the back or a noisier one. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful with advice from tourist ideas to restaurants to which movie theater had best popcorn. The gym on the 2nd floor has a variety of exercise equipment including some free-weights. My favorite thing about Cova is that breakfast is on the top floor and has outdoor seating with a great view of the city skyline. I know people comment about all the homeless people around the hotel but they never are on the hotel property and the staff do an excellent job of showing you on a map what streets to avoid. We stayed 8 days and never felt threatened or worried. This hotel is spectacular for the price and the location which is 5 blocks from Union Square and 7 blocks from Westfield Mall.

Room Tip: Rooms towards back of hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Opal San Francisco
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
1,114 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 228 in San Francisco
1,328 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel SF
#24 of 228 in San Francisco
914 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,313 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Property: Cova Hotel
Address: 655 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing