We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My friend's wedding!”
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #95 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
South San Francisco, California
1 review
“My friend's wedding!”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The room was immaculate cleanliness, the price was reasonable rate for my stay. Very accessible anywhere in San Francisco. Took advantage of the free shuttle to Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Excellent over all. I would definitly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aznchris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    470
    234
    77
    47
See reviews for
250
393
67
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat-Gan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed in this nice and modern hotel in April for 3 nights. Loved it. Very clean, comfortable, nice service, excellent buffet breakfast. The stuff was very friendly and helpful. Free WiFi. There is parking for additional cost, but we didn't use it since we didn't have the car for the period.
The controversial part of the staying was the location: walking distance (10-15 min) to the Union Square on one hand, lots of homeless around the hotel on other. Not advise you to walk around in late hours.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. The hotel rooms are great, clean and modern and the free wifi seemed to work pretty well. I found the staff at reception to be very friendly and helpfull, they allowed us to check in early and even though only one room was available of the two we had reserved. I also left a laptop in my room by mistake and the hotel could not have been more helpfull in arranging to get it shipped back to me.

The one downside of the hotel is the area that it is located in - lots of homeless people and addicts so you kind of feel on edge when walking to or from the hotel. In fairness the hotel do not try and hide this fact and gave us good directions to walk so that we avoided the worst of the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2011

There is NO a/c and their website says that there is room service when there is not. The staff wouldn't even look to see if our room was ready early and the neighboord leaves something to be desired. In such a great city with so many options, I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce P, Customer Satisfaction Ambassador at Cova Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Hello Shannon C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your recent stay.
San Francisco’s temperate climate makes air-conditioning less of a concern. There are times that we get warm weather, but only few times in a year. We do have room service, and we are working with concierge around the area to make it possible, depending on the demand, sometimes it could take time for delivery.
I apologize if you feel like our staff was been unhelpful. Due to high occupancy, sometimes we cannot accommodate early check in.
Again, I apologize for any hassle that you had experience and Thank You again for staying at the Cova Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel was quite good, the room and bathroom proper. The walls are thin, so nousiness
The breakfast varied from day to day in quality and offerings. Better management of the kitchen would help.
Reception and the shuttle service was perfect.
The only really critisism I have is the location.
Tenderloin is a desperate location in the city with lots of wacko's and addicts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel was clean and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly - which is the ONLY good thing I say about this hotel. You do not feel safe walking to most anywhere from the hotel especially at night; many homeless people and rundown area that the hotel is in the middle of. The room was clean but very tight for 3 people - there are not any dressers so you cannot unpack whatsoever; one mirror located in the bathroom; no on sight restaurant with the exception of the top floor used for morning breakfasts; there is a rooftop bar , but there are only tables and chairs and NO BAR. Room was very hot ALL day because there is no thermostat - we opened our balcony door which cannot be left open at night because of the volume of noise from sirens and the homeless people yelling on the streets all night.

Room Tip: Possibly get one on the backside of the hotel - the room may be quieter so when you have to open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannonvale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Cova Hotel is a nicely set out hotel. The rooms are spacey and valuable. There are a few negative things that I noticed during my stay though. Firstly, the staff in the breakfast area were absolutely rude. They were also running out of products and utensils (mainly bowls, plates & coffee) and I once asked for a bowl and the man i asked just mumbled something and walked into what i assumed was the kitchen. Also, it was a continental breakfast so I was looking forward to having some cereal but never got any. Also, there is no form of air conditioning throughout the whole building, none of the rooms have any and due to the dangerous location of the hotel I was not prepared to leave my door open to allow a cool breeze through. The reception staff were helpful, the whole hotel was kept extremely clean and the complimentary shuttle was very helpful however i'm not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Opal San Francisco
#101 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Property: Cova Hotel
Address: 655 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing