We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay again”
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #102 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Staying at the Cova for one week, business travel. Internet works, sort of… (a real problem since I needed this!). Room was clean enough, although bath towels were torn, frayed and needed to be replaced...badly. Breakfast was simple with bad coffee, fruit, and a rude attendant. As other reviews have stated the area is horrible - if you choose to walk anywhere, go with your eyes wide open and try not to be out when dark. Would not suggest this hotel to any type of traveler – go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Great tip is to stay in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelgeeks059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

Upside: Great rates for downtown SF. Clean room and bathroom. Spacious room. Nice amenities.

Staff at front desk was nice one day, and rude the next day when personnel was switched. Beware of being misled: We asked lady at front desk for directions to a rental car location and she gave us the address and phone number of a non existing location. We got there and there was nothing. Called and number wasn't even listed.

Downside: Shady neighborhood. Hotel is only nice building in entire ghetto area. We were almost hit by a bottle of juice that was thrown down a window two flights up as we power walked down the street so as avoid being crime victims. Bottle of juice being thrown out of window was enough to convince us never to go back there.

Major downside: No A/C in room + not being told about this beforehand. Not on website. Not on reservation confirmation. Nowhere. We had to shower twice during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AGGIE_DFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My friend booked this hotel for us and it was the one big mistake we made during our travels through the USA. The actual hotel facilities are all good, it is the location that is a real downer.

The Cova hotel is located in San Fran's "The Tenderloin District", the history of this area is interesting reading but a lot less exciting as a female traveller. Wikipedia provides a good history of the area quoting "The Tenderloin is a high-crime neighbourhood, particularly violent street crime such as robbery and aggravated assault. Seven of the top ten violent crime plots (out of 665 in the entire city as measured by the San Francisco Police Department)"

We had a number of upsetting and dangerous encounters over our 5 days there. Daytime was fairly ok but even the SF Taxi drivers kept saying to us "Why are you staying in this scary area"? and Cova hotel staff said it was wisest to take taxis to and from the hotel after dark.

There are so many lovely sports in SF. Do yourself a favour and don't not stay at Cova SF.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank InspectressB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I was traveling with my family (wife & a 2-year old) to SFO and we stayed @ the Cova for 2 nights. The rooms are very nice an modern in the Cova hotel. Bathrooms too. The hotel is in general very clean. Fortunately we got a room at the more quiet backside. The only disturbing thing was a roaring ceiling fan in the bathroom that could not be switched off. We were offered an other room, but decided to stay in ours. Breakfast buffet was rich and good. The view from the breakfast room at the roof is very nice. Disturbing was the fact that we had to pay doe valet parking 25 US$/day. That was an unexpected extra cost.
The neighbourhood is not exactly the nicest in SFO, but it´s a walking distance from Union square.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernoulli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

i stayed at the cova in september for 1 week while i was on holiday in san francisco, the hotel was quite modern, the front office staff was good, the room was clean and comfy. added bonus was the free wi fi in the hotel, complementary breakfast was quite basic, but enough to keep you going in the morning.
the location was not great, with all the homeless people nearby, but you would find them in any big city, but as long as don't bother them, they won't bother you, the hotel provides a free shuttle bus to union square and fishermans wharf so that was good.
i would not have a problem going back to stay in this hotel in the future next time i am in san francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtsang72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night on September 10. Found this hotel through Priceline.com and paid $117 prepaid. Great price for downtown San Francisco location. The hotel is only about 7 blocks from Union Square. The hotel itself is typical for a small european type boutique hotel. Service was excellent and staff were very helpful. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable beds. Breakfast was included and quite good with a selection of cold cuts, cheese, veggies, toast, cereals and lots of fresh fruit.
The hotel offers shuttle service to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. We took a taxi and paid around 11 dollars to get to Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel also works with two tour operators, one that will pick you up at the hotel.
We enjoyed our stay at the Cova. The only downside is the location of this hotel. It is right smack in the middle of homeless people and we did not feel very safe walking to our hotel. We would definately not be walking at night. I am not sure why they decided to build a hotel at that location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeachyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

hotel is nice but basic, free shuttle bus is handy but have to book it in advance or it books up. area is very dogdy, didnt feel comfortable walking around out side hotel as there is a lot of home less congregating outside a homeless shelter down the road, so would defo recommend shuttle bus or taxi and then u wont see any of that. That is the only down side to the hotel. Very close to union square so good location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hotel Vertigo
#71 of 230 in San Francisco
1,418 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
809 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 230 in San Francisco
305 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Address: 655 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $112 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splitty, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing