We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Indian Restaurant in the vicinity of the Moscone Center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amber

Amber
Reserve with OpenTable
Amber is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: 4th & Market
Description: Amber India Restaurant embodies the spirit and essence of fine Indian cuisine. Located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, Amber India Restaurant takes Indian cuisine to a new culinary level, while still holding true to its traditional nuances. Much like the ambiance within the restaurant, Amber India’s cuisine is a mix of modern style with traditional roots. The delectable cuisine, the well paired wines, and the exotic cocktails are sure to indulge anyone’s senses. The split-level three-story restaurant can easily accommodate 140 people, with a private dining room in the back for up to 25 people. With its vaulted ceilings, stylish décor, and a constant LED light show behind the bar, Amber India Restaurant is truly a feast for both the mouth as well as the eyes.
Michigan USA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Restaurant in the vicinity of the Moscone Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Avery elegant place, large menu, good quality food. Things appear rapidly so there is a large kitchen capacity. Prompt and attentive service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DHK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    242
    54
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You're back in India!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I recently got back from a trip to India & was visiting my sons in SF-- & Amber was their choice. If you had blindfolded me & asked me to taste the food -- I could have been fooled as I was still jet lagged from my trip. The appetizer-- palak chaat, tandoori sampler-- was as authentic as it could be. All the dishes we ordered were good-- especially the butter chicken. The lamb kebabs were a little less spicier than I would have liked but still good. It is as good as you could get back home in India.Try it sometime!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juli226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“lovely dining room ambiance; above-average high end Indian cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Upscale Indian restaurant with striking interior -- deep scarlet design; quiet. Food was all very well-prepared, standard dishes; not spectacular, but definitely worth trying. I'd go back. Nice place to linger and chat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank erdocmdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Definately shouldn't miss this place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Was in SFO n vacation and a physician I work with told me that I had to eat at Amber when I was here. He told me that the food there is better than eating Indian food in India! Walking into the place I had to think he was right; you know it has to be good if there are native Indian eating there, and the place was packed! We went on a Monday for lunch and they had a buffet. It was more expensive than I am used to (I'm from a small town in SE USA) but it was worth it! By having the buffet we could try everything! I'm not used to Indian food, but will definitely eat more if it taste like that!the food was delicious! This is a must even if your not big into Indian cuisine...

Helpful?
Thank joeut1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I traveled to San Francisco over the Christmas holiday. We are true lovers of Indian cuisine and search for exceptional Indian restaurants in every city to which we travel. Amber by far exceeded our expectations. The butter chicken is really more like a religious experience than an entree! Amazing and different use of spices in the curries that we tried. Service and atmosphere was also exceptional. We would return again and again! Not to be missed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amber also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Amber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing