We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Part of SF History”
Review of Chinatown

Chinatown
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour with Optional Lunch
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Chinatown and North Beach Night Walking Tour
More Info
$75.00*
and up
San Francisco at Night: Segway Tour of North Beach, Chinatown and the...
Ranked #59 of 550 things to do in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This electric neighborhood of 100,000 people is not to be missed, and it's not hard to find: listen for the clack of mahjongg tiles and nose out the salty spicy squid.
Atascadero, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Part of SF History”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I've been to SF 5 times now & this was my first time touring Chinatown. I'm glad I did. I took the bus line there from the Asian Art museum at the civic center. I walked up & down all the Chinatown streets so that I could see all the shop fronts up close. Lots of shops to buy items. Lots of Asian restaurants to eat at and choose from while you're there. There's a lot of Chinese history & SF history here as there were many Chinese that came here during the gold rush & also to work on the railroads. Grant is the street with the red lanterns. I was there on a warm sunny day, but typically you need a jacket in SF. Definitely have some authentic Chinese food while you are there. I ate at the Grant Palace. Good food and hot green tea. I read Amy Tan's "Joy Luck Club" and "Kitchen God's Wife" and now I am familiar with the location and the area. I enjoyed it. Next time, I'll take a guided tour and explore more deeply.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gbautista72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,510
    1,865
    1,235
    314
    127
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“A TASTE OF CHINA....”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

When we first went there it was raining all morning, and of course most of the shops don't open until 10 o' clock, so we didn't get to fully appreciate it until later on and what a transformation. The sights, smells, sounds just made you forget you were in America, everything is so much cheaper than say fisherman's wharf which isn't hard. when you consider Chinatown supplies all the souvenirs down there, so it makes sense to buy everything here instead and save a fortune. As for eating well this is a buyers market as there are literally hundreds of restaurants everywhere and not just Chinese, here you will also find family run Chinese bakeries selling some mouth watering delicacies things i would never find back in Scotland. Don't just walk up the main streets and say "was that it" do go down the side alleys and marvel at the shops selling just about everything that walks, swims, crawls, or flys.! And these people will let you barter the prices down which is brilliant. As for eating well lets just say this is real Chinese food and not the crap i get served back home which is full of chemicals and too much salt etc, we ate just about everywhere here including a Vietnamese restaurant, the big highlight here though was the Chinese New Year Parade which is thee big one and this didn't disappoint either. We stood for an hour waiting and thinking this will only last an hour or so, how wrong were we? 3 hours later it finished but what a parade this was, well worth the wait and so colourful as only the Chinese could put on.!
We visited Chinatown several times and were still finding new things to see and do including plenty of shopping as the prices were really good, It's also quite easy to get to as just about all public transport goes here, i noticed some people say it's dirty and crowded and so on but try Saigon in Vietnam as we did last year, and some people should really get out a bit more i think and see the real World, as this Chinatown is up there with the ones in New York and Toronto which we too have visited, so enjoy this one as we did in San Francisco..!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigb67Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welsh in san francisco
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Two days out”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

What can i say, we live in Wales, and this place is bigger than our town. It is great .The character of the buildings, people , at night time it is so pretty. We spent two days visiting all the shops, and if you like chinese food, well what can i say, i thought my husband was going to look like a spare rib. This is a must see place, be prepared to walk as it covers a big area, which leads straight onto the Italian district, Yes thats right time for spagettiiiiiiiiii. Enjoy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank millydilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Feels like Hong Kong! ”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Huge Chinatown with the biggest population of Chinese people outside of China. Interesting to walk around and soak in the atmosphere. Very colourful and vibrant part of the city.

Helpful?
Thank ollymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Little China in SF”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This must be one of the biggest china towns in the US. Very close to Union Square. You can either walk of jump on the cable car from the Square to reach. Distinctive structure of main gate will tell you are there. Walk all the way along the main street. Gift shops and all kind of Chinese items are sold at the stores along the main street. Best shops are in the middle part of the main street. You would spend at least 2 hours walking around China town.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank V Levent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing