We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great tour with Dorothy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wok Wiz Chinatown Tours

Wok Wiz Chinatown Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Chinatown Tour and Optional Hosted Dim Sum Tasting Luncheon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Strolls of San Francisco's Chinatown highlighting its history, people, culture and food with an optional casual dim sum lunch at the end. Award-winning and plenty of fun, our team of tour leaders are all born in Chinatown, are articulate and receive rave reviews - join us soon! Wok Wiz Tours has been in business for 30 years and was founded by the late chef/author Shirley Fong-Torres who designed her tours to showcase one of the most remarkable neighborhoods in San Francisco: Chinatown. Each year, we bring thousands of guests, of all ages, from near and far, to our vibrant area. Every Wok Wiz tour leader was either born in, or grew up in Chinatown, giving a very local flavor to the tour, and each speaks fluent English as well as Chinese. Wok Wiz Chinatown Tours remains a San Francisco icon. Featured in the NY Times, LA Times, USA Today, Bon Appetit, Gourmet, and Cooking Light, and multiple guide books such as Fodor's and Frommer's, the tours are touted as "top attractions" in the city.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great tour with Dorothy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have walked through Chinatown on our own in the past but didn't really know much about its history or day-to-day life currently. It was great to slow down to look and listen and learn more about Chinatown with an experienced local guide. Dorothy, who has received many other great reviews, was all that has been mentioned previously. She was friendly and brimming with interesting information about her childhood in Chinatown, her family, and the community. This tour was a highlight of our recent visit to San Francisco. We will plan to return for other tours from Wok Wiz on future visits.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LantanaFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best part of our San Fran trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our tour guide, Dorothy, was straight out of central casting for our Chinatown tour. She was born in Chinatown 80 years ago, and showed us the building where she was born, had her wedding reception and the Baptist Church where she learned to speak English. This was the level of intimacy on this tour. This wasn't all chopsticks and tea, it was an insider's peek into the amazing culture of the people and the 24 blocks they call home. If you do nothing else in San Francisco, take this tour. It cost us about $50 per person for a four hour tour that included a tea tasting and wonderful dim sum lunch.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthCostGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wok Wiz~Chinatown Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

A wonderful introduction to Chinatown and San Francisco! Dorothy Quock, our tour guide, did a fantastic job of explaining the rich cultural, historical, and social heritage of Chinatown as well as San Francisco, making the tour a warm, personal experience. We finished with a Dim Sum lunch with good-humored chopstick lessons. This should be a Do-Not-Miss on a San Francisco visit. You'll appreciate the city that much more.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BuffaloPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Cal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Third time with Wok Wiz; Outstanding once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Joined Wok Wiz tour with visiting relatives (our third tour since early 1980's). Dorothy Quock was our tourguide and in over thirty years of going on accompanied tours, I have to say that no one is better than she is at imparting information to members of a tour. As part of the tour, we had lunch at Four Seas restaurant in Chinatown and had an outstanding lunch, chosen by the tour operator.
Wok Wiz is outstanding!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chinatown Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We loved this tour of Chinatown. Emily our guide was soft spoken, personable and very knowledgable. She gave the tour such a personal touch with stories of her life. We got to see so much behind the scenes and everyone was so gracious and patient. We especially love the tea shop and the temple. Lunch was delicious!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloriboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok Wiz Chinatown Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wok Wiz Chinatown Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing