We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wok Wiz~Chinatown Walking Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wok Wiz Chinatown Tours

Wok Wiz Chinatown Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Chinatown Tour and Optional Hosted Dim Sum Tasting Luncheon
Ranked #29 of 100 Food & Drink in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Strolls of San Francisco's Chinatown highlighting its history, people, culture and food with an optional casual dim sum lunch at the end. Award-winning and plenty of fun, our team of tour leaders are all born in Chinatown, are articulate and receive rave reviews - join us soon! Wok Wiz Tours has been in business for 30 years and was founded by the late chef/author Shirley Fong-Torres who designed her tours to showcase one of the most remarkable neighborhoods in San Francisco: Chinatown. Each year, we bring thousands of guests, of all ages, from near and far, to our vibrant area. Every Wok Wiz tour leader was either born in, or grew up in Chinatown, giving a very local flavor to the tour, and each speaks fluent English as well as Chinese. Wok Wiz Chinatown Tours remains a San Francisco icon. Featured in the NY Times, LA Times, USA Today, Bon Appetit, Gourmet, and Cooking Light, and multiple guide books such as Fodor's and Frommer's, the tours are touted as "top attractions" in the city.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wok Wiz~Chinatown Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

A wonderful introduction to Chinatown and San Francisco! Dorothy Quock, our tour guide, did a fantastic job of explaining the rich cultural, historical, and social heritage of Chinatown as well as San Francisco, making the tour a warm, personal experience. We finished with a Dim Sum lunch with good-humored chopstick lessons. This should be a Do-Not-Miss on a San Francisco visit. You'll appreciate the city that much more.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BuffaloPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    18
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, Cal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Third time with Wok Wiz; Outstanding once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Joined Wok Wiz tour with visiting relatives (our third tour since early 1980's). Dorothy Quock was our tourguide and in over thirty years of going on accompanied tours, I have to say that no one is better than she is at imparting information to members of a tour. As part of the tour, we had lunch at Four Seas restaurant in Chinatown and had an outstanding lunch, chosen by the tour operator.
Wok Wiz is outstanding!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chinatown Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We loved this tour of Chinatown. Emily our guide was soft spoken, personable and very knowledgable. She gave the tour such a personal touch with stories of her life. We got to see so much behind the scenes and everyone was so gracious and patient. We especially love the tea shop and the temple. Lunch was delicious!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloriboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific tour of Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a great tour of Chinatown with Lola on Saturday morning. She grew up in Chinatown and shared many of her memories. She told us about many Chinese traditions from holidays and weddings to funerals. We visited a Buddhist temple, ate a hand made fortune cookie and drank tea in a tea shop. We traveled away from touristy Grant Ave and shopped where the people of Chinatown shop. We saw tour groups with 20+ people and we knew we had picked the right tour group since our small group was able to interact and go to places the large groups would not be able to squeeze into. We ate lunch at a nice quiet Chinese restaurant where we were able to talk about our tour and ask more questions. I even learned how to use chop sticks properly. We highly recommend this tour.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LarryShepherd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Real China Town Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our tour was led by Dorothy; she was born in Chinatown and lives there now. On her tour we learned lots about the history of the neighborhood and immigrant history. She is a very pleasant woman who made the history very interesting and much of it seemed like a very personal story. We ended with a Dim Sum lunch. The tour made for a very interesting and informative morning. The tour is definitely worthwhile.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveNScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok Wiz Chinatown Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wok Wiz Chinatown Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing