We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read the fine print”

Wine Country Tour Shuttle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine Country Tour Shuttle, with its Super High 94% TripAdvisor Rating Score operates from San Francisco to either Napa or Sonoma. We encourage wine lovers to go on both our Wine Country Tours because the different wine regions are so uniquely different. Our Napa Experience Tour visits 4 wineries and has a picnic lunch and a 50-minute relaxing ferry cruise included. See the reviews below to see how well the picnic lunch and the ferry cruise is so well received. The Sonoma Experience Tour (local favorite tour) is new for us and has great reviews below because we picked 2 fantastic wineries, plus we put together a walking map of Sonoma square where guests can get one free pour at each location. Wine Country Tour Shuttle received the 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Read the fine print”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked the tour several weeks before our trip and were very glad we did as we really wanted to experience the Napa area on a guided tour without one of us having to drive and the other navigate. Unfortunately, the website description is very clear about their refund policy. Also unfortunately, the day that we arrived, I had a medical emergency and ended up spending half our trip in the hospital. They were gracious enough to allow us to change the date (to another date while I was still in the hospital) without the fee. My wife has called a number of times and asked to speak to a manager but keeps getting told that they are too busy or out of the office. We were really hoping that we might get a credit that we could use on a future trip but we can't even get anyone to talk to us about it now. I think we made their naughty list! Anyway, there are several tour companies that operating in the area and I would highly suggest using another one or at least getting travel insurance in case you have some sort of accident that prevents you from following their carved in stone rules.

So, they got our money, didn't take us on the tour, and won't talk to us about a refund or credit. Ok, I think I see how it works. Just like Vegas, the House always wins.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank drlawrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sftourmanager, General Manager at Wine Country Tour Shuttle, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our refund policy is not in fine print. You cannot buy the tickets unless your read the 2 sentences carefully and agree to them. Like a rock concert or a professional sports game -- those venues only have a set number of seats and hold you responsible for the reservations made -- we unfortunately are in the same position. Again, we are sorry about your emergency travel issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    164
    52
    21
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“1 Day in Napa”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The pick up at the ferry building was quite easy and the tour right on schedule. Our guide Ken was exceptional. He was articulate, funny and seemed to be an encyclopedia of wine knowledge and the SF area in general. Tho' this was a full shuttle Ken made sure he spoke to all of us and encouraged introduction and comraderie. It was very obvious that Ken enjoys his work.
The Mondavi winery and the fermentation room was our favourite of the four wineries we visited. Tasting from the barrel at the Andretti winery was also a new and enjoyable experience. Tasting was extra at 3 of the 4 wineries and sharing permitted.
My husband and I are not wine experts but i think this tour provided excellent knowledge for all levels of experience and good value. I would recommend this tour and request Ken if possible.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good tour to see Napa from top to bottom”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Had early pick up by the Ferry Building. The itinerary said the tour would go over the GG Bridge, but instead went over Bay Bridge. The Castello di Amorosa was the highlight of the tour. The other 2 wineries were OK, but had to pay for tastings. Got a $10 voucher for lunch at V Sattui. Food was good but deli was a bit chaotic, and lots of people were doing tastings, so we ended up missing out on that. Good commentary by Lee.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loveurope22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent winery tour”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Meeting at just before 8am at the Ferry Building was followed by a chatty and informative bus ride, via some SF sites and over the Golden Gate Bridge, to the Napa Valley area, arriving at our first winery - the Franciscan - for 10:05.

The first tasting - in a private session - was of three wines - white, rose and red, for $10 each (sharing permitted, which was good as Alison is not a great wine drinker). The white was excellent (and subsequently purchased). The vineyards were well presented with a short walk to see the vines.

After 40 minutes, we departed to the second vineyard on the tour, the V. Sattui winery. Here the tasting was in the winery shop, where there was a choice of 6 wines from an extensive menu for $10, or more expensive wines for $15. I opted for the $10 menu and the server helpfully described the wines on offer. This time the rose was purchased! The V. Sattui winery also has an extensive delicatessen, where we sampled various cheeses, savoury and sweet sauces - so a mustard sauce was also purchased. Because of the extensive range on offer, we stayed an hour at this winery.

The third winery was the Andretti (yes, owned by Mario, the ex racing driver). Here the tasting was done in private in the barrel room - four from the bottle and one from the barrel. Although ok, there was no wow factor in the wines, so we just moved on to the provided lunch - a 'make your own' sandwich (various breads, meats, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese) plus fruit, crisps (potato chips to our colonial friends....), pasta salad and water (wine an optional purchase). We ate this on the patio by the vines in gorgeous weather, many of us on the tour going round for seconds!

The final winery was the Whitehall Lane Winery. Here, the private tour was conducted through a tasting area (white), into the barrel room (Cabernet blend) and passed the crush room into the second barrel room (full Cabernet Sauvignon). This tour was $10 each as tasting was included (sit outside if you don't want to partake) and the tour covered more detail of the wine making process. The three wines were ok, but nothing special. But then, I am a member of the Sunday Times wine club, so I tend to be a bit spoilt in my tastes.

Leaving promptly at 14:45, we headed off to catch the ferry back to SF. The ferry gave great views of San Quentin prison, Alcatraz, the Golden Gate and Bay bridges, and arrived back at the Ferry Building just before 5pm.

Overall, an excellent day. Our driver, Phillip, was fun and the small group (20) became more lively as inhibitions were washed (wined) away (no children helps with this). If you are a wine lover, definitely worth the trip. If you are with a wine lover, they are likely to enjoy it and you will see some lovely scenery (provided the weather is good, as it was for us).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Great day trip to Napa Valley”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Napa Valley and the 4 vineyards we visited. Molly was a great tour leader and very knowledgable. And our driver, Carl, was fantastic - especially navigating his way around a major accident so we were not too far off schedule.

The picnic lunch was great with ample food and in a tranquil setting.

They provide plenty of water. Just bring your camera, sunblock and cash.

A fantastic day, but my only criticism is that the time in each vineyard is rather rushed - but it was a nice introduction to Napa Valley and just makes me want to go back again, but at my own leisure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Country Tour Shuttle also viewed

 

Been to Wine Country Tour Shuttle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing