We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I ate breakfast here every day I was in SF”
Review of La Boulange de Fillmore - CLOSED

La Boulange de Fillmore
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: La Boulange Café & Bakery was shaped by taking the French traditions of our mother bakery on Pine Street in San Francisco mixed with an offering of fantastic brunches and healthful lunches. We pride ourselves on providing our customers with homemade specialties that are baked fresh every day. Our passion is to bring a little piece of France to your neighborhood!
Valrico, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I ate breakfast here every day I was in SF”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Oh my gosh. I loved this place. They have a location on Mission St. It was right out the back door of my hotel. The best cream cheese danish and almond croissants I have ever had. They have much more to offer and also have soups, salads and sanwiches for lunch. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very Good Sandwiches for Takeout”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

On a beautiful summer day in San Francisco we got sandwiches at this restaurant - for takeout, although the space is inviting and casual. Our roasted vegetable sandwiches, accompanied by couscous were very good - fresh, made to order, and on tasty bread. My wife was not thrilled with the couscous- finding it tasteless. Fillmore is a great walking street and La Boulange is a choice spot to fill up the tank and keep walking and/or shopping.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeroNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Went here for a coffee and cake after seeing the great reviews. The coffee was good, but the food was average, and the decor upstairs pretty shabby, rather than characterful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sagalout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great boulangerie! Good food, everything is really fresh and tasty, and it is located in one of the nicest areas in San Francisco.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Want to know what *real* macarons taste like?”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

... As contrasted with not-really-French-style macarons baked for the mass market? Then go to any of the La Boulange/Bay Bread* restaurants around the Bay area. Handmade, small, with a respectable pied (foamy-looking base), a thin crunchy shell, a melt-in-your mouth cookie center (not a big chewy mouthful!), and a subtle but distinct flavor to the ganache or jam filling--these are the real thing. The passionfruit macaron is ever-popular: its tropical perfume will move you for a moment to the island of your dreams. Classic tastes: the lemon, the vanilla, and the hazelnut. The pistachio gives just a light whiff of the nut, the strawberry and raspberry burst with fruit flavor, and the coffee is just enough to say "good java."

My favorite strategy, when in this neighborhood: Park on or near Fillmore and Pine, go to the La Boulange "maison mere" (mother house) on Pine, taste their samples, choose among their dozen or so different macaron flavors du jour, get a pastry for tomorrow's breakfast, and perhaps indulge in a small bag of their incredibly gorgeous potato chips. Then I walk round the corner to La Boulange de Fillmore. I order lunch at the counter (usually the mushroom-and-bechamel open-face sandwich on their crusty bread, with a small green salad...this is true comfort food) along with a cafe au lait for later. I snag a small table and go back to pick up a tiny dish of Nicoise olives and cornichons. They bring lunch to the table... and afterward there are those macarons in my bag to enjoy with the coffee, a warm, rich roast. Heaven.

Don't expect atmosphere. These are casual little neighborhood spots, many of them a bit worn, with a feel of reality. Do expect good service and excellent everyday food that is made in authentically French style.

*Note: DO NOT confuse this chain of real French bakery restaurants with "Le Boulanger" or "La Boulangerie," which are ubiquitous American bakery/sandwich chains with French names. Everything there is geared for the American mass market. Their food is good, but it's not exquisite, and it's not French. Also, they don't offer organic and fair-trade food, as La Boulange/Bay Bread does.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Shauna0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boulange de Fillmore also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing