We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chain that doesn't feel like a chain!”
Review of La Boulange de Fillmore - CLOSED

La Boulange de Fillmore
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: La Boulange Café & Bakery was shaped by taking the French traditions of our mother bakery on Pine Street in San Francisco mixed with an offering of fantastic brunches and healthful lunches. We pride ourselves on providing our customers with homemade specialties that are baked fresh every day. Our passion is to bring a little piece of France to your neighborhood!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A chain that doesn't feel like a chain!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

If French bakery cafes are more your style, try La Boulange Bakery. It's a chain with locations throughout the city, though I've only been to the Fillmore location. It has two levels, plus a few coveted outdoor tables.

The menu here contains fresh salads, pastries and sandwiches. During my visit, I tried an open faced hummus and veggie sandwich paired with a fresh side salad. Makes sense to eat something light so you can indulge in a pastry as well, right? If your lunchtime mantra is anything like mine, then you’re in luck, because there are plenty of tempting treats here worth trying.

Also unique? Homemade jams are made here in-house. I brought home a homemade strawberry-rhubarb jam on a recent trip, much to the delight of my roommates.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank savvybostonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Only Ok.. Had the sticky bun and whole wheat bread.. service was poor”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We ordered a beautiful looking sticky bun and were quite disappointed. Was quite disappointing. The bread whole wheat/multi was excellent. Service was poor. We had to ask for our order.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCauwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A bit of Paris in San Francisco, tres bien!”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stopped in for a pastry after having a great lunch at Sotto Mare. It reminded me of Paris with its very good selection of pastries. I had the lemon turnover ($2.75) and it was very good with a creamy lemon flavor. The place is large and was very busy. I liked La Boulange and wished I had time to go back again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brayette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy cafe in North Beach/Little Italy!”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We just happened to have breakfast at La Boulange Cafe after finding out Mama's on Washington Square is closed on Mondays (very disappointed). However, La Boulange was very good. I ordered French Toast and it was very yummy. All of my friends really enjoyed their breakfast food as well. This is a cute little place in North Beach.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aggiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We've been walking around San Francisco for a couple of days and have tried several different cafes. This is one of the best things we have found while in San Francisco. Maybe a bit off of the beaten path but great prices and excellent French cuisine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apbTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boulange de Fillmore also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing