We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful stretch of water”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of San Francisco Bay

San Francisco Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers hiking and biking along its shores, paddling and sailing on top of its surface, and bird-watching and exploring among its wetlands.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful stretch of water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This surpasses Sydney and Cape Town for me and that says a lot - its just in a whole different league with such a vast expanse of water with so many interesting landmarks as well as the gorgeous sailing boats below. So glad I had the chance to see it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Citytraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,572
    1,398
    173
    31
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“San Francisco Bay for Cheapies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I enjoy an occasional late night walkabout in San Francisco. I love to feel the exhilarating ocean breeze. Since I am always on a low budget and always seem to be late for everything, it often works out that all or most of the stores are closed.

One recent evening after 10PM In San Francisco, I got off work and being an Aquarius, instinctively headed for the water. One would think that you would get mugged or something. But the wind blows so cold everyone takes shelter. So it's usually a total ghost town.

By the time I finished wandering a closed Fisherman's Wharf I was famished. Almost at my limit, I finally ran across an In-N-Out Burger. They close at one and after my explorations I just made it under the wire! I had the best double cheeseburger ever. There is also a 24-hour diner ensconced in a nearby hotel.

Just made it in time before the 2AM shutdown of a nearby pub to wash it all down with an expensive organic beer, served by a most inhospitable hostess who obviously wanted nothing but to go home. No matter. It was also the best beer that I ever had and I was in time to hear "yesterday" and some old 80's hit sung by a solo acoustic act there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a good excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visited the San Francisco Bay. It is such a beautiful sight and you can never forget. The bridge looks huge and is a marvel structure. Will come back again if I visit San Francisco.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lots to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I loved every minute of being down the bay area, the sights the smells, if you love sea food, then you'll love, it Clam chouder out of a bread bowl, and loverly Crab at cheap money compaired with other resorts ive been to.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank danny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bay Cruise - Golden Gate, Bay Bridge, Alcatraz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Wanted to go to Alcatraz but they were booked out for several days in advance. We took the Blue & Gold cruize in the bay that went under the Golden Gate and totally around Alcatraz but close enough to see well, plus a good view of the Bay Bridge. The on-going commentation of the history of the area was very informing, plus you had a great view up close of everything out in the water. We were disappointed that we didn't get to go to Alcatraz but really felt this was a great excursion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Bay also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing