We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of San Francisco Bay

San Francisco Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers hiking and biking along its shores, paddling and sailing on top of its surface, and bird-watching and exploring among its wetlands.
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The view from Sausalito over the bay to the San Francisco skyline is amazing. We were lucky to have been there when the sun was out as it can be misty. We were lucky enough to see some of the big yachts which were preparing for the Americas Cup.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loulou777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,679
    1,433
    188
    31
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The buzz of the wharf down by the shore is wonderful. Went on a boat trip around the bay and it was well worth it to see the city from the water

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank shropiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places in the world!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The San Francisco Bay would have to be one of my favourite places in the world. So beautiful on a bright sunny day :) Love Fishermans Wharf and just taking in the beautiful city. Must visit!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ness91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“On a clear day - or a foggy day....”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The views from the bay are always interesting. We could barely see the bridge from some perspectives it was so foggy - but that made it beautiful too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chaos_slc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“See the City”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent several days covering all parts of San Francisco. The bus system is great for getting around town, and once you figure it out it is very simple. The one thing I would do next time is buy a pass so that you do not always have to have $2 ready. That way you can scan it and be on your way. We took the bus to Golden Gate park, and then caught the underground back to Union square, and then the bus off to Pier 39.

We went on the City Sightseeing tour across the golden gate and to Sausilito. The trip was good and convienent to catch by the wharf. It leaves at various times and you can catch it back whenever you want, so it gives enough time to wander, shop and have lunch in Sausilito.

We did lots of walking, which is a great thing about the city. It is fun to walk through Chinatown, have some authentic food, as well as Little Italy and that food. yum Be sure when you are in Chinatown to go to the fortune cookie factory. It is right in Chinatown, on a side street. Ask anyone, they should be able to tell you where it is. Sorry

It is a great city to visit. We always feel very safe even with the amount of people there, some in unfortunate circumstances and down on their luck. The homeless are around but certinally you do not need to be afraid to be out and about. A simple "no change" is the best way to address them, if they ask, and be on your way.

Give it a try, it is a great place to vacation. And tons to do and see. Oh, and make sure you take some money. You will buy something.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Letstravelnow411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Bay also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing