We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”
Review of Ike's Place

Ike's Place
Ranked #153 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: The Castro
West Milford, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Awesome little pop up, kinda shop in the Castro district. The sandwiches are top notch, probably some of the best in San Fran. Don't expect anything fancy when you come to Ike's, it pretty much looks like a small warehouse with maybe 1 or 2 tiny tables that serve no purpose, cause really? Just take the Sammy outside and people watch....

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aRedLetterLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    91
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Options”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was a bit wary about eating from here having seen some recent reviews.

Yes, it's away from the city centre - I walked to build up an appetite. Yes there's no seating and yes the menu does not show all their sandwiches.

I asked the server what I didn't know and got a great sandwich which I ate away from the shop.

It wasn't the Man Vs Food Experience, but still a great sandwich.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieB3052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The sandwiches are great (as per other reviews!), the service is quite efficient (the back room looks a bit like a sandwich assembly line) and friendly (especially given the queues) and there are some nice touches like a choice of a free bag of chips and a lollypop!

I had the Paul Reubens (about $10) which was very satisfying (if a bit difficult to digest!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antonioactuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“You'll Be Disappointed If You're Expecting What Was On Man vs Food”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

it is a tiny little shop, quite a way from the city center, there is no outside seating as seen on the TV show, so you'll need to find your own place to eat.
We had the Matt Cain and the best I can say is it was ok, unless you're staying nearby I wouldn't bother.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaztg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you love snadwiches this is the place for you!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We decided to go to Ike's after seeing it on Man V food. We had to travel about 30 minutes on the tram from our accomodation to here but it was so worth it!
We ordered the Matt Cain and Sabrina's smile and waited about 10 minutes for them to arrive. I asked the server the best place to eat them as there are no seats in the shop and she directed me to a park about 2 blocks away which was perfect for us.
The sandwiches were so tasty and incredibly filling - we didn't eat again for the rest of the day!
An absolute must if visiting San Fran.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teacher_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ike's Place also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Ike's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing