We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great very - hard hike” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Telegraph Hill

Telegraph Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
San Francisco Urban Hike: Coit Tower, Lombard Street and North Beach
Ranked #85 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 179-foot tower from which you can see the entire San Francisco Bay.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great very - hard hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We walked up this hill from the side of the Levis HQ where there seemed to be a never ending set of stair cases - thought they were going to kill me lol.
Once at the top you get the most outstanding views of San Francisco and the hard climb is totally worth it!!

Don't forget your camera!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SimonWilshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    101
    24
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Some of the best views you can get of San Francisco. Very cool. The views would depend on the weather though. It's definitely worth it on a sunny day. :) I'm not sure going up the tower is though... I liked it but it's a little expensive for what you get. I enjoyed the park and the walk up and down the hill. The neighborhood is cool, some houses have the cutest gardens! Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The views are spectacular. We were blessed with perfect weather so even the hike up and down were enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Great views the city, Alcatraz and bridges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

You won't beat the views from the parking lot of Coit Tower and the surrounds. You could take the easy way out and drive up but the parking lot fills up fast and traffic gets dicey. Opt instead for a walk up the "hidden" steps from Sansome & Greenwich Streets. It's a beautiful walk through some secret gardens and unusual plantings and there's rumors of wild parrots. Didn't see the parrots on our trip. CAUTION: This is a pretty ambitious walk and a significant number of steps.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PluffMudPinball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Nebraska
Level Contributor
333 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Best Views of SF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is another must-see in San Francisco. You get a almost 360 degree view of the city and the bay. Parking can be tough. Be sure to read the history and background of the area and Coit Tower. Great photo opportunities.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichFromOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telegraph Hill also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Telegraph Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing