We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Francisco Streetcars (not cable cars) are all right”

Market Street Railway
Ranked #53 of 535 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Restored street cars run on tracks up and down the Market Street Railway.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
164 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“San Francisco Streetcars (not cable cars) are all right”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have a collection of old cable cars from cities around the USA and Europe that run around on Market Street. They are a good way to get places but they're just public transportation. Mostly they're neat to see buzzing around when you are waiting for a cable car at Powell and Market Streets, near Union Square downtown.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank travel-junkie3PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    91
    30
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“IT'S FUN! EVEN FOR A LOCAL!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I love to hop on these things! Even if I'm in a great hurry to get to point B it makes it fun. The locals tend to use the underground MUNI, as our transit system is called, so on the Market Street Railway you get to meet more tourists who'll shyly ask questions and I always love to talk my beautiful city up! It's a cheap, fun, colorful, rattly ride! Do hop on these!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for all”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Fun for all. Especially if you have ridden this type of street car in the past. Take the grand children. Suggest if this intrest you, visit the Westen Railroad Museum east of Susiun on Hwy 12. Many operating restored historical inter-urban cars. Rides are available

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DJS2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
264 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Ride the Historic Street Cars”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

A good family ride if you've never done it before.
Otherwise, take the bus or underground both of which are faster.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oaklandish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great historic vehicles and lots of tourists”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My favorite vehicle is the Milan street car. There are some that look better, but it reminds me of one of my most awesome friends who is from Milan and would always point out the Milan streetcar going by (they're the yellowy-orange colored ones).

The ride is very, very slow, but if you're riding this thing it's for the fun vacation experience, right? Well, some locals do ride it--especially between Castro and Powell Street. Once you're on it between Powell and Fisherman's Wharf be prepared to be packed in with tourists from everywhere. But even though it's crowded, people are all in good holiday moods so it's not as torturous as some Muni vehicles.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank holodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Street Railway also viewed

 

Been to Market Street Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing