We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience San Francisco Botanical Garden
from $35.00
More Info
from $30.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $105.00
More Info
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveler rating
440
181
48
13
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
181
48
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden gate park redwood grove plants and trees fragrance garden succulent garden meandering paths wide variety of plants plant life different sections flora and fauna japanese garden admission fee couple of hours few hours sunny day muir woods bloom
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

We were recommended this place by a friend and it was a great stop on our day out. The staff and docents were really friendly and interesting. There was a rare water lily in bloom and they told us a lot about it.

Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took a taxi to the park to go to the science museum and took a walk through the park as well. It's huge! The children's playground is neat and the central part has fountains and statues and some food carts. Some parts were a bit neglected.

1  Thank AzraelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were so happy to see this lovely garden. Since we were there on a Tuesday, it wasn’t crowded. The plants looked very happy. The place is divided up into sections representing plants in many parts of the world. Most beautiful were the various small ponds with fish. We even saw a large hawk perched in a tree nearby. There were plenty of restrooms, sitting areas, and accessibility for handicapped.

Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You will not even realize you are in a city. They have gardens from all over the world. The paths lead you in and out of areas so you feel immersed in green. There is a central meadow, so you will never get really lost as you go from Australian outback and into the California redwoods. Sculptures and water features are everywhere. A gardener's must do. The admission is just a few dollars, and well worth it. Visit the store too for unique books and gifts.

Thank norcalgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We toured both the botanical gardens and the Japanese tea garden. If you could only do one the tea garden is better, however the staff at the botanical gardens are much more polite. $9.00 per person entry fee.

1  Thank Hondasaki_cat_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

By chance we happened to be there on a free day. The botanical garden is very spacious and beautiful. There are 2 entrances to this place. I like to use the map so that I do not backtrack to the same site and that is very easy to do. The whole garden is divided into different areas for example, Australia - where one can view plants from Australia, then New Zealand, etc. The Redwood grove is near California. If you haven’t seen redwood trees close up, here is your chance to have a look at them. The rhododendrons were very beautiful on that day. They were blooming in different colours. There is a pond with a platform in the Moon viewing garden with Japanese stone lanterns placed in strategic places. It gives one a sense of peace and tranquility in there. We missed some of the areas as we were really tired. But when we return again next time, we will do better. I have seen some plants which I have never seen before. There are buses which go to the garden. All in all, worth a visit or two.

Thank Vivien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just $9 to get in to these huge gardens with some really interesting specimens from across the world. Don’t expect glass houses in these gardens - the temperate climate does however allow for a huge range of planting from the African Cape to the Tree Ferns of New Zealand. A treat for anyone interested in their plants. I recommend a visit if you are in San Francisco. The succulents are particularly incredible.

Thank BusinessTraveller710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although we have visited SF many times, we had never been to this gem. Plants and trees from many places around the world-so much to see and enjoy. We will definitely return when in the area. We do suggest that people bring a picnic lunch as there is nowhere in the Garden to buy food.

Thank jsugarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

for those of us who have lived in SF, the garden has always been a special place. a quiet place with great beauty. helpful staff.

Thank jeffrey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful botanical garden in Golden Gate Park. A place with different vegetations divided in regions and continents. A sunny day in the afternoon a walk through the park was perfect.

Thank steelriver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews