We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free admission 2nd Tuesday of each month”

San Francisco Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Plus Bike & Bay Cruise
Ranked #39 of 535 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to San Francisco Botanical Garden, one of the most diverse gardens in the world. The Botanical Garden is a living museum within Golden Gate Park, offering 55 acres of both landscaped gardens and open spaces, showcasing over 8,500 different kinds of plants from around the world.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
New York
Level Contributor
353 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Free admission 2nd Tuesday of each month”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wow! This is a photographer's dream come true. They have everything here. You can walk it in about 1 1/2 to 2 hours but could spend much longer if you wish to see everything. There is an entire section with redwood growth (which they built the gardens around). The history is fascinating. There is plant life from all over the world represented. Well-marked paths, well-labeled foliage and a beautiful stroll on a warm day. A must-see for anyone interested in plants of the world and/or photography of nature.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SailorBoy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    178
    53
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
232 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Interesting place to stroll and enjoy nature”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This garden is contained within the Golden Gate Park. There are a number of different "environments" within the garden. When we entered, the lady at the ticket booth made some suggestions as to which gardens were particularly nice that day. So we visited those first to make sure we saw them in our limited time. We actually had time to see most of the gardens.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank flamouth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“what a treat!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Wow, this is a photographer's heaven, tons of beautiful orchids and tropical flowers. We had not expected to take a side trip to this attraction and are very pleased we decided to visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank playridebikehike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster PA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“well manicured gardens”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My son now lives in the San Francisco area, so when we recently visited him, he suggested a tour of the Botanical Gardens. It was a busy Sunday but we got there early to get a precious parking spot.
The gardens are well tended and the descriptive signs were (mostly ) well placed. I am from the East Coast so I didn't recognize all the plants and sometimes it was difficult to figure out the plant name.
We enjoyed our time wandering on the paths. They are well marked to coordinate with the map.
We visited on the weekend of the plant sale and that was great to see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank abby57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weedsport, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love Plants and Flowers? Must Visit!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It was a nice sunny day and we took advantage of the weather to visit Golden Gate Park. It is filled with things to see and do, but, the highlight of our visit was the Botanical Garden. The gardens cover about a four acre area and feature plants, mostly flowering, from throughout the world. I’m sure it is colorful and engaging year around, but, in May so many flowers were blooming it was a spectacle of color and fragrance. The gardens have been laid out so as the cluster groups of plants together by theme and the trails to each section are very easy to walk.

Helpful?
Thank davecm329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing