We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, but was hoping for more.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pier 23 Cafe

Pier 23 Cafe
Ranked #17 of 318 Nightlife in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bar, featuring great music nightly, is always packed.
Kansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Okay, but was hoping for more.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was looking forward to eating here because my husband saw Pier 23 on DDD. We arrived around 11:20. They open @ 11:30. We waited at the bar. Felt a little awkward since we didn't want a drink. The view was great when we got seated. Our waitress acted like she didn't want to be there. The food was fine. My husband got the fish tacos and I got clam chowder. If I visit San Francisco I might go again, bit I wouldn't go out of my way.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    11
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great seafood and a beautiful spot to spend a sunny afternoon. They sometimes have bands in the evenings, but my favorite is to sit out back and borrow a straw hat on a sunny day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank amya_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
248 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

After a long day of sightseeing we decided to see if we could just get some food to takeout. They were very accommodating and quick with out order. I had the shrimp and crab sandwich and it was delicious and plentiful. I thought the price was very reasonable for the quality and quantity of our meal. I'd like to go back when I have time to enjoy the live entertainment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AKjazzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great location even better food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband had the seared tuna on sourdough and I had the crab cakes, both exceptional!
Had the privilege of watching the America's Cup while dining.
Busy spot with good prices for excellent food!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank thebunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Had fish and chips, YUMMY!! My husband had fish tacos, oh so good! We would recommend this quaint eatery for anyone who loves seafood!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 23 Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pier 23 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing