We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual, Bizzare, Fun”
Review of Paxton Gate

Paxton Gate
Ranked #29 of 290 Shopping in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city's smallest and most unusual retail shop.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unusual, Bizzare, Fun”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

What an unusual store! There's something there for everyone. Plants, skulls, minerals, books, taxidermy, oddities.
You must stop in on your next trip to the Mission.
Enough said, just go.................

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank khub79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alta Loma, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get yourself here already!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My favorite spot in SF! I have to leave my wallet behind because I get Paxton Fever and lose control. A beautifully curated shop that seems like the storage facility for Charles Darwin. Didn't know I liked taxidermy. But that's just the beginning...just go. Take a taxi...walk...crawl...but take your wallet because if you don't buy, I just don't know about you.

If there is a young person in your midst--drag them along. If they don't like...parents have done a bad job!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun and cool store”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

If your in the area it's a really cool store with all sorts of unusual things. There are two stores and both are on the same street - Valencia. One is more geared for kids and the other more for adults. Both are great. I found some great items in both stores. Definitely worth checking out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
364 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Hipster weirdness”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

De-fleshed animals, fossils, jewelry, plants...quite a strange collection of goods for sale in this trendy spot. The kids store a block away has nice selection of toys.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Weirdest shop ever!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is great if you're into taxidermy. The shop next door is pretty cool too, even has a live fish theatre!! ''Don't judge the fish''

Helpful?
Thank ollymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Paxton Gate also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Paxton Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing