We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good times great drinks”
Review of Bourbon and Branch

Bourbon and Branch
Ranked #171 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good times great drinks”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Loved the cocktails! decor, service all great. Saw other review complaining about waitstaff, people need to lighten up! Our server was an absolute doll!!! Neighborhood is shady-business but made for fun entrance. Also, loved having password/reservation entry. My husband knocked, I gave password and she brought us in, then he said 'we have reservations' to which she replied with 'as noted by your having the password' - me and the other couple we were with cracked up under our breath and my husband felt a little sheepish but got over it quickly with a nice scotch. The couple in front of us didnt get in because no reservations, granted there were seat open, but its the freaking point... make a damn reservation!! I loved it and could have stayed all night but jetlag and some serious booze knocked us out pretty quickly. I'd go back in a hearbeat. Check it out - as long as you arent a jerk and/or dont take yourself too seriously and are ready to have major alcohal..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Mcap5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    88
    24
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place, just ok cocktails”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I definitely enjoyed the night at Bourbon and Branch. The place is beautiful and music is great. Drinks a good but stay away from the mixed drinks- unless you like very, very, VERY sweet things. stick to the wines, sprits, etc...

Warning- no food so eat ahead of time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleni_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, strong drinks”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We read about this place online and decided to make a reservation for a table. It was pretty easy to find and we booked for 2 hours (the maximum) figuring if we didn't like it we could always leave earlier than that. The atmosphere was really cool. It is based on a speakeasy and had lots of people the same age to us there (20's and 30's).

It was dark with a candle on the table to read the drinks list. Normally this would add to this atmosphere, but we maybe shouldn't have booked to go there our first night in San Fran since we were jet lagged and tired. Reservations are definitely recommended if you want to get into the one area of the bar that has the tables. Once your time is up you can finish your drink and if you want, order more, in a main bar area. This was packed and had a line up outside to get in.

The drinks are very strong. They are expensive but clearly you are getting a good cocktail. One thing to note is that most of the drinks are based on bourbon or gin. Not being a huge fan of either (more of a vodka girl) this very much limited my choice.

Also as others may have noted there isn't any food here. Make sure you do not expect any "nibbles" to help cushion the strong drinks-have food before you get there. It is booze only.

Overall though it was still a really cool place to go and a fun night out. The area of town was just on edge of sketchy so it's not someplace I would hang around later. My husband and I were fine though and just booted out of that area (on foot) once we were done.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-n-Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not so good on our second trip!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The first time we went to this boutique bar we loved it! You had to give a password through a little hole in the door to get in and they had hidden doors to go to back rooms like an original speakeasy! This time a year later, a waiter pops his head out an open door asks for a password then asks for our names we reserved under, asks the hostess in side and then let's us in as he keeps the door wide open and asks another couple their name! They sat us 5 feet from the entrance door that was continuously opening for the first hour of our hour and a half visit. There was a guy on a cell phone ( a house rule no-no) and it was loud. I honestly would maybe try it one more time before I write it off my list of places to go forever! Very sad!

Helpful?
Thank Traveler260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasalle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wilson & Wilson”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I made a reservation after reading a trip review here. We had a reservation for 1&1/2 hours but luckily it was a slow night and we were able to stay longer and have a few more drinks. The drinks are amazing and very entertaining to watch them being made. even the ice cubes are unique! The atmosphere is very intimate. We were even able to get a tour of the basement and the other rooms thanks to our bartender. I would highly recommend this bar to anyone looking for an unusual and unique experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourbon and Branch also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bourbon and Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing