We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a room with a view”

Fog Harbor Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Fog Harbor Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Embarcadero
Transit: F-line,10 & 15 stops right in front of PIER 39. BART: 510.465.2278 MUNI & Cable Cars: 415.673.6864 Alameda/Oakland Ferry: 510.522.3300 Vallejo Ferry: 415.705.5444 Sausalito & Tiburon Ferry: 415.705.5444
Description: It has been said that "no visit to San Francisco is complete without a meal at Fog Harbor Fish House!" Fog Harbor Fish House offers the quintessential San Francisco waterfront dining experience and was the first 100% sustainable seafood restaurant in Fisherman's Wharf. The classic, cozy dining room features award-winning panoramic views of the Golden Gat Bridge and Alcatraz. Owned and operated by the Simmons Family, the founding family of PIER 39, you'll meet a member of the family when you dine!
Brasilia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than a room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

There's always fear that in a place like the Pier one should avoid restaurants. But that's certainly not true there! This is one of the places where we can have anice meal, good service and a pleasant view! it's has always been a pleasure to return to this restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jholanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,446
    1,049
    258
    77
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

It was my birthday when we arrived at the Fog Harbor Fish House without reservations. The place looked amazing....and the food was excellent. I had the pan seared scallops with arugula salad with cranberries and etc. It was incredible! Even my kids enjoyed the seafood food...and they are not seafood fans. After dinner a delicious Hot lava cake and ice cream was served with a song to celebrate.

The restaurant was beautiful and modern. A fireside sitting area outside in front, huge wall of windows facing the bay inside and lovely furnishing.

The staff was polite, gracious, and excellent. Definitely recommend to anyone who wants find views, good food, and wonderful service while visiting SF and Pier 39.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coachchadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
185 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food with a great view on Pier 39”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had an hour to kill before picking up friends at airport, stopped for dinner at Fog Harbor... very elegant place, but no dress code, come as you like. Second floor on Pier 39, windows everywhere, overlooking the bay and Fisherman's Wharf. Service was amazing, so great, so attentive, even the manager kept coming around. I was dining alone, yet did not feel "out of place" or different. The calamari with lemon aioli was amazing!! Had I known the portion was huge, I'd have stopped there. Also tried the "Grilled Shrimp Brochette"....simply wonderful. Grilled shrimp skewers, mashed potatoes, sauteed spinach with butternut squash.... totally delicious!! I cannot say enough about the staff, hostess, waiters and all. Truly a wonderful dining experience! Will be back when in the area again!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sillytia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
541 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I went her on my own and the staff was very attentive to my needs and the service was very quick. I had the Clam Chowder and the Crab Melt, both of which were very good. The sourdough bread was outstanding and I shouldn't have filled up on that. They delivered the wrong meal to me, but quickly adjusted and brought what I had ordered. Great view and fairly good prices.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank anonymoussfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Clam Chowder and service, so-so oysters and hostess”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Was sent there by SHeraton Concierge on a Friday night w/ reservation and window table request.Arrived early,agreed to wait in lounge with comfy chairs and fireplace. Hostess tried to seat me at booth NEAR window,not at window.Manager finally offered me big table (6 top) at the window.Waiter efficient,helpful,had many tables,butI never felt abandoned.Clam chowder was best I had that week,oysters were small and bland,Dungeness crab roll was tasty without overly spiced.Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teddie6801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fog Harbor Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Fog Harbor Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing