We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden”
Review of Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Stretching 4,200 feet and towering as high as a 65-story building, this well-known bridge is the gateway to San Francisco.
San Pablo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golden”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I travel across the bridge while taking my nephew around, he was visiting from Texas. It was impressive, cold, windy, sometimes foggy. Nice for and evening walk or run on a sunny day. The city and other bridges can be viewed from the bridge on a clear day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mildredhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36,276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26,975
    7,720
    1,398
    123
    60
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Iconic landmark from afar, crowded jungle up close”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

No trip to San Francisco is complete without a photo op in front of the Golden Gate Bridge. Up close, you really get a feel for its size but unfortunately you get a feel for how popular it is as a tourist attraction too! I got the great idea to get some exercise by walking across the bridge but it was easier said than done. Thousands of people had the same idea which made the walk less than enjoyable. That being said, it was more enjoyable for me than those who rented bikes and attempted to cross. I am SO glad I didn't try that. I do have some nice pictures of the city from the bridge but a nice leisurely stroll it was not.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank biojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Fabulous Golden Gate Bridge”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Traveling southbound on the 101 from Marin county, you see the top of the bridge over the hill on the left. As you approach the bridge you see a wonderful sight. She is as beautiful as imagined. The fog is burning off and the bridge is in full view. As you cross her, you can only imagine the skill and hardship the crews went through to build her 75 years ago. Now at Ghirardelli square you can see her as she spans the opening of the bay. What a wonderful site!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jazzzzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Drove over the bridge on arrival, amazing views.
However downside was the toll system, the toll is only from one direction and you don't stop. They send a bill which to those of us in rental cars could be a problem. (None of this is well sign posted, we spent a while trying to find someone in the toll office to ask!!)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“great views. If you can cycle over to marin headlands you can get a complete tour”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We rented bikes and cycled across the GG bridge. this is a popular activity and you will see a large number of bikers along the path. The options are to walk across, rent an electric bike or do it the old fashioned way and get a regular bike.

The old fashioned way across the bridge and back will involve 2 slopes. If you plan to ride up to the marin headlands though, that is a steep slope a little over a mile long. Cycling up to marin headlands requires that you are in shape. Cycling across is a really nice way to cover a lot of distance in shorter time.

Another option is to walk across the bridge. this will give you time to ooh and aah at the sights without worrying about keeping your eye on the bike path. Takes a little longer but a lovely option as well.

If you want to expend less energy (i am in good shape but on vacation i prefer not to burn 1000 cals cycling around to prove a point :-) ) rent an electric bike. There is next to zero effort on the slopes and you can cycle all the way up to the marin headlands with no effort. the caveat is that you need to check the bike and ensure that it is fully charged etc. one of the members in my group ended up with a bike which lost its battery charge 40 min into the ride. This made riding up to marin headlands quite painful for him. It was only because he was in excellent shape that he made it as far as he did without feeling the pinch.

we did not ride to sausalito. We did drive by sausalito the next day on our way to muir woods. the view is good. Was not convinced it required the extra time. try to get the marin headlands instead.


bottom line - walking or renting an electric bike are great options. If you want to get further try the electric bike. if you want to burn some calories get a regular bike, it is still a lot of fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vidalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Gate Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Golden Gate Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing