We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biking over the bridge”
Review of Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito Bike Tour
More Info
$52.20*
and up
San Francisco Coastal Walking Tour from the Golden Gate Bridge to Cliff House
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Guided Bike Tour Across the Golden Gate Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Stretching 4,200 feet and towering as high as a 65-story building, this well-known bridge is the gateway to San Francisco.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Biking over the bridge”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

we rented bikes and rode over the bridge to Sausalito then took the ferry back. The only really difficult part of the bike ride is getting up several hills at the base of the bridge. Other than that, it is not too grueling of a ride.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jessfey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37,551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27,909
    8,007
    1,447
    127
    61
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow, what a view!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our family of 4 is so glad to have walked across this beautiful monument. We didn't realize it was 75 years young in 2012. I would definitely walk across, even with a bike. Too narrow and crowded to figure on getting a workout. You can get your biking workout on either side of the bridge though!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bike across the Golden Gate”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Rent a bike from Blazing Saddles. They have many locations near Fishermans Wharf and bike the Golden Gate bridge. They have a separate lane for walkers and bikers and it was a relatively easy ride with maybe 1 or 2 modest hills that you have to get over. Walk the bike if you must but the bikes all come with gears. Then after you get over the bridge, it is an easy downhill ride to Sausalito ferry where you board the ferry for the trip home to fisherman's wharf. We traveled with a young man who wanted to ride back across the bridge and he made it in the same time that it took us to cross the ferry. Blazing Saddles will give you a ferry ticket that will save you time. When you return the bikes, if you used the ferry ticket, then you were charged. If not, just return the ticket. Great family fun and you can even get bike trailers for younger kids. totally safe as long as you watch out for traffic

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jenn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Golden Gate with the bike”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We rented a bicycle for the day and drove to the Golden Gate bridge. The sun was shining and no fog surrounding the bridge, so we were pretty lucky...
We started from Fisherman's Wharf, but don't let it fool you... It seems closer than it actually is. It's windy and uphill as well, but once you're at the bridge, it makes it all worth your while. There are a lot of passengers on the bridge so it does take you a while to cross it. Once we were on the other side we were so thirsty but nowhere to buy any water, so we just drove back.
The Golden Gate bridge gives you an amazing view of San Fran in the background!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank glennc728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Biking”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Felt exhilarating once we finished the bike ride over the bridge but riding from fisherman's wharf across the bridge to Sausalito is no easy task. It can get a bit strenuous, I exercise but am not bike rider, if your up for the challenge , do it , it's a great experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Gate Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Golden Gate Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing