We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most games are a quarter” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee Mecanique

Musee Mecanique
Ranked #23 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This superb collection of mechanical games and toys will entice people of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most games are a quarter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

A roll of quarters went a long way here. The old fashioned games in a warehouse were very cool. It was nice stop while at Pier 45 of Fisherman's Wharf. Kids played "pong" and many other games we loved as a kid. Other games were carnival-like and very different. Good stop for teens. Not sure if there are bathrooms there...either they were closed or did not have them because we had to go down the street to find a public restroom.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,179
    678
    163
    20
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
357 reviews
301 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Surprising”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

If stopping by the wharf, make sure to check out this place on the way. It's free to get in and has change machines inside if you want to play any of the games and activated any of the coin operated machines. There are a couple of huge displays all hand made, one of a farm and one of a circus, that come to life for under a dollar. I was very happy I took the time to take a walk around this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool Stuff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family and I visited Musee Mecanique on our last day of vacation and I'm glad we saved the best for last! It's a fun place for all ages to play around in. Many of the machines are very old, and though they seem simple now, you can really appreciate all of the detail and hard work that went into them. Most machines are only 25 cents, but there are a few large ones (an entire carnival, a farm) that cost more. Worth it, in my opinion. (Except for the Laughing Sal at the door. Super creepy.)

Great place to stop at if you're visiting Pier 39: just make sure you bring quarters!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, USA
Level Contributor
253 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“free, fun, fantastic, phantasmagoric”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Free, fun, fantastic, fabulous, and phantasmagoric, the Musee Mecanique is definitely worth checking out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDZatSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Retro arcade.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Airy space gives this 'curio-seum' a great display stage for oddball arcade machines.

Two-thirds are mechanical gizmos. One third are video booths circa 'Space Invaders' period. All are apparently in working order, with the help of quarters.

Admission is indeed free, but refrain yourself from mindlessly feeding the slot. After all, save the change to ride the BART home.

The atmosphere is festive, creepy, and fascinating. This is state of the art entertainment for its time. Who knows: in twenty years, you could be seeing your Iphone 5 and its Angry Birds app on display!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lapster2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Mecanique also viewed

 

Been to Musee Mecanique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing