We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro fun!”
Review of Musee Mecanique

Musee Mecanique
Ranked #24 of 550 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This superb collection of mechanical games and toys will entice people of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Retro fun!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Unexpected fun - lots of old games (early 20th century right up to Pacman), photo booths and fortune telling machines. Fairly quiet as well, despite its fairly large size it seems to be overlooked by a lot of tourists. Just keep check of your money, it's amazing how quickly those quarters disappear!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,304
    740
    183
    25
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A happy accident!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I were strolling the Fisherman's Wharf and came upon an open door on the pier...we saw some games and just wandered in. We are so glad we did! What a crazy, fun place this is! We are in our mid-forties so many of the games were a real walk down memory lane for us but many were even so much older. It was just a fun hour to put nickels, dimes or a quarter into a machine and play. We LOVED that they kept true to the games and only charged the original price to play the games. There is no charge to wander around and just look at the games....but I bet you won't be able to help yourself and dig our a dime or a nickel and play!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Perfect Home for Your Quarters!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place, filled with all kinds of coin operated machines and games, is remarkable for it's collection as well as for how well they are maintained. Some of these machines are over 100 years old and the fact that they still work (most of the time) shows how much care has been taken with the collection. I personally love the old "risque" moving picture shows in order to really see how much times and cultural norms have changed. Also, don't miss at least one of the execution booths.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Shu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quite bizarre”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is actually a fun little time waster. The attractions are all v interesting and its free to enter but you have to pay to play anything - recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Brilliant way to spend some change. There are a lot of machines that you can enjoy although some of them do seem to be a tad expensive. You won't want to spend ages here however it's worth the visit and you won't regret it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Mecanique also viewed

 

Been to Musee Mecanique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing