We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty houses.”
Review of Painted Ladies

Painted Ladies
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Mini Majestic Electric Bike Tour
Ranked #72 of 544 things to do in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A famous stretch of colorful Victorian-style house.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very pretty houses.”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

These ladies were on my list of 'must-see' while in San Fran and they were really pretty indeed.

I stayed in Union Square, so the walk here via Market St > Hayes St was a long, long, long but lovely walk. It took a bit over half an hour and the streets were steep. Along Hayes St there are plenty of cafes and boutique shops to stop and browse at.

Once there, the whole area was lovely and the Painted Ladies are just as pretty as you see in photos. Alamo Square is also a dog park so there will be dogs running around.

On my walk back I drop by City Hall, cutting through Civic Center Plaza before making my way back to Union Square.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank WLH_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    434
    308
    55
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were disappointed by the famous painted ladies. Some were falling into disrepair, and not very nice to look at. The area is lovely though, and if you walk down steiner st a little bit, there are other, prettier houses to see.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tahnee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
408 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Coolio”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Was nice to stop here in the park and take some pics , sit down, relax, check out the victorian houses. Very nice looking places. I wondered while I was there how much the people who live there like strangers taking multiple pics of their houses every single day lol. i am sure they are warned of it before buying though! Pretty cool place! Definitely check it out if you are in the city!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cksteeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Come to Alamo Square to see the Painted Ladies and see the city views! This is def a very unique area. The Ladies are truly beautiful and make for amazing photos. I highly recommend coming here and looking at the Ladies! Great views and great place to relax/eat on the lawn!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank a300zx4pak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
400 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Beautiful houses”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I suggest taking public transportation if you can't walk uphill a long, long time! The way up is steep too.

Beautiful Victorian houses that must cost a fortune to upkeep! Well worth the trip up. The houses show very well what existed in the old days. Great houses.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painted Ladies also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Painted Ladies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing