We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful houses” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Painted Ladies

Painted Ladies
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
San Francisco Experience - City Tour
Ranked #70 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A famous stretch of colorful Victorian-style house.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
389 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Beautiful houses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I suggest taking public transportation if you can't walk uphill a long, long time! The way up is steep too.

Beautiful Victorian houses that must cost a fortune to upkeep! Well worth the trip up. The houses show very well what existed in the old days. Great houses.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    414
    294
    53
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Experience San Francisco Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited this landmark parc with a view overlooking the 'ladies'. We had our 10 month old so we visited the kiddie parc. Really nice, clean, new, and a Spectacular view. I love the colorful architecture. A great place to visit fir young families.

Helpful?
Thank Francosg1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

It's definitely worth taking the trip to Alamo Square to see the Painted Ladies. Even if you're not a big fan of Full House, the views beyond the homes are spectacular. On a clear day, you can see all the way to the bay, with the entire downtown skyline.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KevRitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Photo opportunity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Saw these as part of my hoping hop off tour, which was great,but it was a little hard to see give the angle the bus goes past. Would recommend getting off the bus and walking past to see better. Rained the day I did this, so wasn't the greatest and not worth getting off the bus, but will try again next time. They are so recognisable from all those movies and tv shows, it's a great tourist spot, but remember to respect the location and the people living there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AussieA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Iconic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of those places that you just have to see. Very cute neighborhood and I love the row houses. Be prepared for a steep climb especially if you are getting off of the Big Bus Tours. But it was definitely a fun find and now I can see that I saw the "Full House" houses.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painted Ladies also viewed

 

Been to Painted Ladies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing