We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My fav place in San Fran!”

Palace of Fine Arts Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.00*
and up
San Francisco City Bike Rental
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed to look like a Roman ruin, this golden building is certainly a beauty to behold.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“My fav place in San Fran!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place is absolutely gorgeous and very peaceful! There was literally nobody there when I went there and that was just even more special for us. The location is very unique in a neighborhood with beautiful homes around it. This is a spectacular place for pictures. I highly recommend it!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank a300zx4pak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,428
    1,086
    213
    26
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I had a few hours in San Francisco one Sunday afternoon, and decided to go walk around the Palace of the Fine Arts. I wasn't exactly certain what to expect. I had seen some shots of the walkways when watching the television show, Monk. It looked nice, so I wanted to see for myself. I was so glad I did. It was absolutely gorgeous. It was a nice sunny afternoon in early October. There were families with children feeding the swans. There were many brides taking advantage of the beautiful surroundings- water, statues, gardens. I was so happy I decided to take the time to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lovely architecture. Its a great place to wander and see will the birds that live in the adjacent water. Often you'll find photographic shoots going on here

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AncalagonTheBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Calm yet impressive”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This can't be seen from the marina where I have been many a time, so what a nice respite this was, when I took my lunch and a bus on a fine day out. Cool from the marina water's edge, shaded by huge trees and made-over columns and dome - this was a wonderful place to sit, view, share your lunch with all those birds even though we weren't supposed to, away from the hustle and clang of Union Square & Ghiardelli's. The stone maidens up high with their backs to us humans on the sidewalks made me smile.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryeeMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great park in which to spend an hour or two.”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Pretty park, nice pond with swans and other wildlife of a mainly fowl nature (Heron, Cormorant, Hummingbirds, etc.). The architecture is beautiful.

It's nice, serene and a great place to take pics if you are a photographer. I'd suggest grabbing some lunch somewhere and bringing it to the park for a picnic. Warning though - there *are* seagulls in the pond. I didn't have food with me so I don't know how they would react to someone with a lunch.

It was one of my favorite sites in San Fran...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trav_auntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace of Fine Arts Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Palace of Fine Arts Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing