We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #46 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can take a workshop on boatbuilding, board a vessel docked at the Hyde Street Pier or tour the fine collections of maritime lore.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
186 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“fun times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Nice place to visit for all ages. For a small fee you can board several types of boats. Or explore from on shore. History comes alive here. Easy access.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gypsywomen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    163
    33
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ships and subs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Being able to get on board and explore real ships and subs is really an experience. Our family of three (our son is 4) all enjoyed our time here. There was lots of climbing and going down stairs, and crawling through the 'entrances' in the subs. Definitely not for those who have a fear of enclosed spaces! (referring to the submarines). We took a break from seeing the ships to go down the road to have a meal (an oyster and beer place). When we were refueled, we went back for more! Definitely worth a visit even if you think you're not into ships and subs.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanex
Level Contributor
372 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Hyde Street Pier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Five restored/preserved ships at the pier that demonstrate the different vessels and different times for maritime travel in the eastern pacific. Had a great time - well worth the several hours we spent here

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 894robertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Ships and Visitor Center are the Highlights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We've visited many a maritime museum, so we probably are not your average reviewers--probably a little pickier than a more casual visitor.

Pay the $5 to visit the ships. They are the highlight, and if you look at them from the pier, you miss the best part of the park. In particular, we recommend spending the time to enjoy the tall ship Balclutha and the ferry Eureka. Both have excellent interpretive material.

The visitor center is also worthwhile. We enjoyed the short movie on the history of SF. Being from out of town, it was very informative to us.

The "museum" proper, located in the old ferry terminal building is a snoozer. Not much there. The building itself is the artifact (art deco).

We'd take first timers there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FJVLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, California, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A spectacular way to spend the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hyde street pier and the history ships are a wonderful, historic, educational activity for kids and adults alike. The Balclutha, Eureka, and Hercules are open for self guided tours, while the Thayer is still going through the restoration process. We also took a walk to the museum, which is free, and onward to Fort Mason. Bring good walking shoes, but it's great!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShanAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing