We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Save
Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour
3,530

Book in advance
from
$63.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Union Square
from $63.00
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
from $160.00
More Info
from $67.00
More Info
Reviews (2,178)
Filter reviews
2,178 results
Traveler rating
686
967
402
79
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
686
967
402
79
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high end shopping skating rink macys city sf neighborhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 2,178 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2019 via mobile

It’s difficult to say something positive. Large square in centre of S.F. I suppose it’s good to get your bearings. As far as tourist attraction, I don’t get it. Like most of S.F. Large numbers of homeless sleeping around the square

Date of experience: July 2019
3  Thank Lambretta101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

Today, the general surface is competition of people in misery, without housing. But also a place for well-known shopping and lunch-eating locals.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Phayao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

Every city has a Union Square type setting. But that doesn't mean there isn't anything there to take in. Great place to sit for a spell and take in the hustle and bustle of the city. Near lots of hotels and food so it's not out of the way.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank AlleyDeBlanck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

SF has a homeless problem, and it certainly becomes more dramatic when tourism and hospitality business encounter the social problems of the country. On Union Square, the central square, this happens (and many other places in SF). It is an enlightening experience to the European traveler in these parts of the world. The combination of both is an unhealthy mix and should local businesses, communities and politicians motivate to do more about the social problems of their city. Due to this, the square has lost its original attractiveness.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank globalbob2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 15, 2019 via mobile

Well after some bad press and my last visit here 12 years ago was a little apprehensive about San Francisco visit August 2019. My wife was working at the Hilton for her convention, my stepson and I were here to have fun. Hilton, good hotel and location on 333 O'Farrell St, just near Union SQ. Well our drive from airport to hotel went through the Tenderloin area, not a great area, saw couple of drug deals going down, our driver was a local. A major city like most has its share of homeless people but if you keep to the major tourist areas all seem relatively safe during the day and early evening but would recommend a taxi or Uber after that as we did. We were approached by a few homeless but they were non aggressive and if you ignore them they left us alone. We heard of no from my wife's convention having any issues over 2000 people. Just be careful and sensible and you should have a good time. We did the usual tourist attractions without issues, Cable Cars, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Pier 45, Oakland Raiders Football game, Giants baseball game, shopping around Union Square etc. Alcatraz tour. We did see tent and Rv homeless city over in Oakland as we Uber to the Football game and some smaller tent city's under the freeway bridges in San Francisco. My advise, go, enjoy the sights but just be extra careful, use Uber or taxis after dark. Take advise from the locals/hotel staff of places to avoid and you should have a great time

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank cableguy4642
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews