We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
  
Ways to Experience Asian Art Museum
from $55.00
More Info
from $63.00
More Info
from $65.65
More Info
Reviews (1,535)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveler rating
1,018
414
77
14
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,018
414
77
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews civic center city hall on display special exhibition gift shop beautiful building galleries objects jewelry sf audio
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2019 via mobile

Wow, this is by far the museum with the most unhelpful and unfriendly staff. You have to carry you backpack in front of you. Thoughat coat check they told us its ok to take. The front desk did not tell a single syllable about the museum. Ok. Only one floor open, bit still full price. Truly one of tge worst museum experiencess in the whole world

Date of experience: August 2019
5  Thank mac_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019

San Francisco has so many museums it is easy to overlook this one. But don’t! Everything about it is inspiring! The building itself is gorgeous (now undergoing renovations) and the exhibits breath-takingly displayed. The serenity of rooms is stunning. We went specifically for special exhibit: “Japanese Tattoo/Woodblock Prints” and it was eye-opening and gorgeous. I often go to Asian just to have lunch in cafe. Sit outside and it is real treat. And gift shop is stunning. Great for gift buying. Can’t recommend enough

Date of experience: July 2019
3  Thank Hollie2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

The two featured shows were really wonderful. Loved the tattoo art, and the Bold show was, for me, a real transition between ancient scroll art and the Impressionists. I forgot to ask what was with the dog in the front? He was great. No pun intended. They also have a beautiful gift shop, with an incredible book section, too

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank JudithA1093
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2019

i went specifically because of the tattoos in japanese art exhibition, which was fantastic. the other exhibit was also a lot of fun. the architecture of the building was nice, and the stairs and inscriptions were great. the second floor was under construction, which was the only thing that wasn't great. i am sure the museum will be even better once the construction is complete!

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank realabigraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

How would you like to enter all of Asia's cultural worlds virtually, encounter wonderful art treasures along the way, and discover the secret to so many Asian artistic and social insights - all in one place? That's this place. They are always working on new ideas, and that is inspiring in itself. A museum for the 21st century. And regarding the pricing - as Oliver Wendell Holmes said, "I enjoy paying my taxes. With them, I buy civilization." If price of admission is a deal-breaker, the mall is absolutely free. Go there.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank FirstRebreather
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews