We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breaking Bread Sandwiches”
Review of Embarcadero Center

Embarcadero Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Plus Bike & Bay Cruise
Ranked #154 of 545 things to do in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With more than 125 stores on three levels, plus seasonal concerts, festivals or art displays for the enervated shopper.
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breaking Bread Sandwiches”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Shopping center is conveniently located next to Le Meridien hotel. We went to Breaking Bread Sandwiches twice for breakfast and were not disappointed. Great service, excellent fair. Highly recommend for breakfast, it looked like their sandwiches were fresh and tasty. I would recommend stopping here and getting a lunch to go if you're heading to Sonoma or Napa.We had tried Ferry Building first but restaurants were too busy. Glad we tried this place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    18
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,590 reviews
3,619 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12,002 helpful votes
“Probably better for locals than tourists”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We visited the Embarcadero area during a recent trip to San Francisco and stopped by the Embarcadero Center after visiting the Ferry Building Market across the main avenue. We were attracted to the structures in front of the shopping centre and then decided to take a look around. We found this place to be ok but not a particularly special shopping location.

It seems the Embarcadero Centre includes floor space in 4 adjacent buildings, which are connected by a bridge. You can also just enter/exit the building at ground floor level by simply crossing the street between buildings. This is an odd layout but what can you do when you have office space limitations. While there were the normal suite of shops found in shopping malls and centers. Seemed to have better dining options than shopping from what we could see.

Overall, we felt that Embarcadero Centre was geared more for locals and wouldn't be as appealing to visitors looking for more traditionally tourist-friendly places, like the Ferry Building Market just across the street. Others might find it ok though!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
164 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Embarcadero Center, nice windowshopping, restaurants, views”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

There are four large office buildings with 2-3 stories of shops and restaurants all connected by pedestrian bridges crossing the streets below. It's a nice environment and there are some nice views of the bay. Some decent restaurants. Not a significant tourist attraction but if you went to see the Hyatt's great Atrium you might wander around Embarcadero Center.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank travel-junkie3PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
632 reviews
463 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Fun stop for my wife”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We visited this area while waiting for our reservation at The Slanted Door. My wife and daughter enjoyed the shopping and my son and I walked around. Interesting art piece at the entrance that the kids enjoyed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grover R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Embarcadero Center, SF”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We always enjoy the independent films being shown at the Landmark Theater at the Embarcadero Center.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Embarcadero Center also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Embarcadero Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing