We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to shop”

Ferry Building Marketplace
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
San Francisco Food Tour: Ferry Building and Ferry Plaza Farmers Market
Ranked #16 of 543 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A city landmark transformed into a gourmet food emporium and farmers market.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
598 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Very nice place to shop”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you're looking at just having a nice wander around, looking at some interesting and slightly different shops, this is the place for you. Would recommend to anyone.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BagmanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,927
    1,650
    375
    48
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The visual feast as well as edible feast”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My trip to San Francisco began at the Ferry building. The drop off pick up place for Amtrak. Food of all sorts await you. Are you into organic?Do you like all types of coffee and pastries? How do you feel about olive oils sausages pastas vegetables? The ferry building is a smorgasboard of what awaits you throughout San Francisco. It is a visual sensual gateway to an amazing city. There are small shops each sampling something. You can walk from booth and stall and not get bored. Transportation is easy from there to San Francisco and the bay area. Ferries go from there to Oakland, Sausalito and elsewhere. Daily bay tours also depart from there.Great views. They have added the bicycles you can rent. It is called the place of embarking and it is!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank vivian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for wondering around”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Great market for just browsing and wondering around. There are so many different stores, you are bound to find something that you sre interested in be ot chocolate or wine, or seafood or veggies.

Delightful place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I wish I lived near this place”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

If I lived in San Francisco, I would definitely be here every Saturday morning. There is no reason to waste your money on breakfast at one of the expensive hotels. Grab about $20 cash and head to the market. We had fresh bread, falafel, almonds, fruit, organic sodas. I was full way before we had even seen all the vendors. They also have a killer wine and beer shop inside the ferry building. I will definitely come here every time I visit San Francisco.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank arachulax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really nice shops, nice variety, and a lot of samples!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A really fun place to shop (even on a Saturday), with a nice variety of shops to stock up for a week's adventure to a rental house on the northern California coast. Various vendors of gourmet products including meats, cheeses, olive oils, breads, fish, herbs, vinegars, etc. Prices reasonable (though not a bargain), the variety is splendid! Cant wait to delve in to our bounty this upcoming week!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferry Building Marketplace also viewed

 

Been to Ferry Building Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing