We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Exploratorium

The Exploratorium
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.95*
and up
Exploratorium General Admission
Ranked #10 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience the Exploratorium, a hands-on museum of science, art, and human perception that's dedicated to the excitement of experimentation, the pleasure of discovery, and the power of play. Indulge your curiosity in over 600 exhibits-indoors and out-and explore eye-opening ways to understand the world around you. Don't miss the iconic Tactile Dome, where you can take an interactive excursion in total darkness using your sense of touch as your only guide (be sure to make a reservation in advance). There's also a unique museum store plus two delicious places to eat: the SeaGlass restaurant, which has a stunning Bay view, and the Seismic Joint cafe. Located at Pier 15 along San Francisco's Embarcadero between Pier 39 and the Ferry Building, the Exploratorium is easy to get to by public transportation (the F-Market & Wharves Historic Streetcar stops out front and it's a ten-minute walk from BART or MUNI) plus there's parking nearby. Tickets are available online (recommended) or at the door.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chaska, MN
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went there when my kids were 12 and 9 and almost couldn't get them out of the place. Great exhibits on science presented in such a fun way. It is so big that there was very little or no waiting in line to us the items.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,778
    601
    159
    30
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overrun with toddlers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Basically a ton of toddlers running around like crazy banging on all the exhibits. I understand that this is a family oriented venue, but get it together parents - it isn't a daycare center. If you don't have kids in tow - I would stay away or go on one the adult nights. Kids under 5 are free and they think everything is just a toy with no understanding of purpose - it really ruins the experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mbough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explOratoriumSF, Manager at The Exploratorium, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks for your honest and thoughtful feedback. We like to think of ourselves as a people friendly space and consider all ages when developing our exhibits. That being said visiting during the day with families, kids and groups can be fun, but also really stimulating. Good news, we are now open every Thursday night from 6 - 10PM if you prefer the museum without all the kids; it's 18 and over! You'll be able to explore minus the little ones (yours or other folks).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No better way to get kids curious about science”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

This museum is chock-full of fun experiments disguised as play. We had to drag our kids out. We wish we lived in town so that we could return for an adults-only evening as the hordes of kids were the only downside. Cannot recommend the place highly enough.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank vkbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adults will enjoy a visit here also”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Wonderful space with endless things for kids to do and see. Our 4 year old was not as entertained but the 6 and 8 and 11 year olds LOVED it! Bring some snacks as it can be tough to get food quickly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good way to spend the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Best science world I have been to. Bring a snack and spend the day here. Very interesting displays and very nice areas outside.
Spinning monkeys worth a visit

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Exploratorium also viewed

 

Been to The Exploratorium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing