We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-managed restaurant in French-Amercan cooperation.”
Review of L'ardoise Bistro

L'ardoise Bistro
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 9/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #18 of 6,501 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Duboce Triangle
Cross street: Henry
Transit: Church Street Castro Duboce Park/Duboce and Noe Duboce and Church
Description: French bistro fare & a varied wine list star in a cozy, colorful space.
Reviewed July 17, 2019 via mobile

During our trip to USA this was our best experience. It started with a very welcoming meeting at the entrance even if we had not made any reservation. The day's recommendation was a starter made on lobster and it was amazing. As main course we ate a delicious halibut. We finally rounded up with a creme brulee and a chocolate fondant. The atmosphere in the restaurant was also very nice. All in all a perfect evening.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank tomasp652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 227 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2019

This place is a hidden gem in the neighborhood. For just a few bucks more than other restaurants you get an authentic French dining experience. The food is fantastic, as is the atmosphere. The restaurant itself is nestled in a quiet neighborhood on Noe street which is lined by trees....this place is a great date spot!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank MattyDoesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2019

L'Ardoise (chalkboard in French) is on a quiet street, a few blocks away from the heart of the castro.

The food is classic French food- cooked classically without any gimmicks or twists. Coq au Vin, Cassoulet, Onion soup -all are cooked perfectly. The service was also wonderful. The waiters are quite knowledgeable and are very on the spot without being intrusive.

If you're looking for top-notch CLASSIC French food, this is the place for you. If you're looking for modern twists or the latest fafd, this is not the place. EVERYTHING is cooked and prepared according to classic French cooking.

I highly recommend this restaurant to everybody.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mlkarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

L’Ardoise was a terrific discovery in the Castro (SE corner of Noe and Henry). We asked for an early seating and were delighted to have a table for two near the front soon after the bistro opened. Very attentive service without being rushed or feeling neglected - bread, water, wine (superb selections by the glass), appetizers, entrees, dessert, and coffee - portions were generous, quality and flavors exceeded our expectations, relaxed atmosphere, neighborhood vibe - I would not hesitate to return to enjoy other appetizers and entrees.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank LBlank-SalinasCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

excellent French dinner, I went with my spouse to celebrate his birthday. Was our first time so we did not really knew what to expect and the food was great, prices are affordable and desserts were really good! not pretentious at all..

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank fregosoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'ardoise Bistro also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to L'ardoise Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing