We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great real vegetarian Chinese”
Review of Enjoy Vegetarian

Enjoy Vegetarian
Ranked #1,672 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sunset
Morro Bay, CA
Level Contributor
263 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great real vegetarian Chinese”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

On the heals of visiting Ananda Fuara restaurant in San Francisco, we came across Enjoy Vegetarian at 839 Kearney. Sure most Chinese restaurants have vegetarian options, but Enjoy is pure vegetarian in the Buddhist tradition - which also means no garlic. The meat substitutes were phenomenal, and for us nearly impossible to distinguish from real pork, beef, and chicken. The sweet and sour chicken was great, as was the broccoli beef. Unlike many other hole-in-the-wall restaurants in Chinatown, Enjoy was renovated, clean, and stylish. Service was fast, friendly, and attentive. Portions and selection were large.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeanCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southern Calif
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly, delicious Chinese vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This small restaurant on Kirkham is nothing much to look at, but you will keep coming back once you eat here. The all-vegetarian (and some vegan) menu should not scare off carnivores like me. Try their guilt-free (veggie) sharks fin soup, lettuce wraps, rice with spinach and pine nuts, "lamb" and "beef" dishes. Everything is freshly prepared and delicious. I often go with my son's friends, and all of them love the food and the big portions. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KDsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Enjoyed the experience very much”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I ordered the sweet and sour fake chicken, it was very good for my taste, the spring roll was crispy and yummy, the fried banana and ice cream dessert was a great finish..
Plus the waitress was extremity nice, and the service was excellent, if I had more time at San Francisco I would have definitely return...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tooshtoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and just right”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We went to the Kearny branch (wish it had a separate listing) for lunch and was surprised by their $7.50 lunch deal which had spring roll, soup, viand, rice and tea. What a deal ! We were even further surprised by meeting a friend there who works nearby. Anyway, we loved the no onions, no garlic and msg. Place looked clean and nicely done. Food tasted clean. Service was quick and portions were more than enough. Food was delicious! Definitely liked it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sudarshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
331 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Very Good Chinese Vegetarian”
Reviewed October 23, 2010

NOTE: This is actually a review of their 2nd restaurant located at 839 Kearny St. on the edge of Chinatown:
Very good Chinese vegetarian food. They do the best job of tofu-for-meat substitution I've ever had, be it Chinese or other. I had a tasty "beef" appetizer, thinly sliced and very tender, for $2.99. Main entree was a braised tofu and mixed veggie dish, which was very good too, with just-right crisp veggies, $8.50. The restaurant's interior is a very pleasant combo of dark wood and light pastel colors and is immaculately clean. Fast & courteous service. I recommend it whether or not you are vegetarian (which I am not).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RPF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enjoy Vegetarian also viewed

 

Been to Enjoy Vegetarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing