We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, But Confused By Wait Staff”

Osha Thai Restaurant
Ranked #454 of 5,735 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Financial District
Danville, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Food, But Confused By Wait Staff”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Don't get me wrong as this restaurant serves great Thai food; the prices seem a little on the high side ($330 for 8 people), and we shared dishes. However, they have tucked down in the corner of the menu "Family $5", which as we were sharing 5 dishes for 8 people seemed like a good idea. The waitress 1) had no idea how much bigger the dishes would be, 2) was confused about which dishes could be 'family sized', 3) informed us that rice was extra, so we ordered rice, only to find that every dish came with rice. When we informed her that we didn't understand, she stormed of and left us. About 5 minutes later we asked for another waiter and the evening moved forward.
Not a good experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    94
    33
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Don't pass this by!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I were staying in the Hyatt, and every time we passed this restaurant, we could smell the deliciousness wafting out from inside. We could smell it a block away. We passed by a couple times thinking it looked pretty expensive. There is no menu for public viewing outside. Finally we worked up the courage and asked for a menu, and much to our surprise, it was very reasonable.
Not only was it reasonable, but it was delicious, with large portions and lovely presentation. The restaurant decor was very nice as well. Service was not bad. My husband had the Panang curry and said it was the best he'd every had. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid_Traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Thai at it's best”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This restaurant conveniently located in the Embarcadero area of San Francisco. It is nicely decorated in a tranquil Asian setting in soft toned colors. On my last trip, I had the grilled shrimp Volcano beef, and it was delightful. (see posted pictures) The food is always fresh, and properly prepared and presented. If you are in the mood for Thai, Osha is a great option….enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 555peterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ambience better than food, but still good”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautifully decorated Thai restaurant, however definitely better Thai places in terms of food. Both traditional and modern Thai fusion dishes. Attentive staff, however very busy the Friday night that I visited. Centrally located in the financial district. Very inventive (though somewhat pricey drinks) that fuse thai fruits and flavors for a unique blend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charcoal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, very crowded during weekdays”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nicely decorated but very crowded during weekdays. We also went to their location on Geary. That one is just as good but cheaper.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osha Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Osha Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing