We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Alcatraz Island
from $120.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
from $115.00
More Info
Reviews (52,641)
Filter reviews
52,641 results
Traveler rating
39,455
10,857
1,807
271
251
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
39,455
10,857
1,807
271
251
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio tour night tour book in advance cell block cell house boat ride own pace al capone weeks in advance park ranger buy your tickets self guided great trip take your time bucket list the golden gate bridge prison
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 52,641 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

The Alcatraz tour is an excellent self paced tour with headsets that you can pause as desired. The tour is well organized and everyone was super friendly and welcoming.

Strongly recommend that you buy your tickets as early as possible as the tours do sell out and you won’t want to miss the experience.

Not recommended for young children as they likely won’t understand the history and the significance of Alcatraz.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank LeslieM338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

We went on a late morning trip over to The Rock and after listening to a brief talk by a park ranger, we watched the short video in the old military building before doing the audio tour of the cell block. The whole experience was very cool. It wasn't as eerie as I expected it to be. The place is about a lot more than just the criminals. I definitely recommend it! Be aware that the island has some pretty steep walks but there is a vehicle for those with mobility issues to ride. The views are beautiful, as are the gardens. We received our tickets as part of a conference my husband attended, so I can't really comment on the value.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank angie1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

You will learn so much about the history and be able to walk the grounds on your own. You also have the option to do a self guided audio tour, which was fantastic. Don’t miss the opportunity!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank iheartplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

I would highly recommend to do this tour. Our family of four with two children aged 5 & 11 thoroughly enjoyed it. We all did the audio tour which shed a lot of light of what life was like on Alcatraz. I would recommend catching the earliest possible ferry. You can book your tickets 90 days in advance which I would also recommend doing. Our children also did the Junior Ranger activities and earn’t their badge.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank amyd209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Lots of history. Nice audio tour and friendly rangers. Short boat ride from pier 33 and a very long line to get on the boat. Book at least a week in advance!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank maxvol504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews