We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to Alcatraz”
Review of Alcatraz Island

Alcatraz Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$201.75*
and up
Alcatraz Admission and Wine Country Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Park rangers conduct tours by recounting the prison's thrilling history along with intriguing anecdotes about Al Capone and other legendary figures that made a "home" here.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A trip to Alcatraz”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We took the ferry across the bay to Alcatraz, then walked up the hill (which is the equivalent of walking up 13 stories) to the Jail. It was amazing and the stories that are told about life there were eye opening. The history about this place is very interesting and its surprising what you don't know.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Koleenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30,391
    8,758
    1,457
    220
    186
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unique attraction”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I interesting facility...truly one of a kind. Only way to see it is thru Alcatraz cruises. Seems a bit overpriced. Something to do "once" if you're visiting San Francisco. We did the first cruise of the day. I would recommend it to avoid large crowds.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nowork2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I pre-booked my ticket online from Australia some months before I travelled as advised by my father as the ferrys are always fully booked every day. I caught the 11am ferry. A quick trip over, great views. The tour was amazing! Walking up to the cells, we were given headphones and proceeded to the start of the tour where you can turn on the commentary at any time. The tour leads you around the whole of the prison and is very informative. I learned so much about the prison and took a lot of photos! Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MEGAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Memorable Night Tour”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I recently did the night tour (I heard it was amazing compared to the day tour) and I would have to agree.

The night tour leaves around 330pm so you still get a bit of daylight and lots of amazing sunset photos. After that, you get to go into the jail and see what it would have been like once the sun goes down.

By doing the night tour you get the normal experience that daytime visitors get, but you also get to see what the Hospital and Kitchen were like (day tours aren't allowed to visit this).

I would recommend the night tour without question if you can do it!

PS - It's not nearly as scary as you think....and it is a lot smaller than it looks too so there isn't a ton of walking!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffsumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, UT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must see!! Take the night tour. Buy tickets well in advance”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We took the night tour on the suggestions of other reviewers, and also because other museums -Exploratorium, Legion of Honor-close at 5pm. This was an amazing experience. Everyone in our party was extremely impressed. Our Seniors used the electric tram to get to the top. The tram is the last of 3 groups to get to the top There is plenty of time to see everything. During the audio tour, take your time. If one area is too busy--the tiny door to see the exercise yard seemed to bottleneck- just pause your audio tour and explore a bit on your own, till it clears out. I couldn't get my headset to back up.
The view!! Oh, the view of San Francisco at night is spectacular.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shdaimeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcatraz Island also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Alcatraz Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing