We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! Great Trip for the Money!”
Review of Alcatraz Island

Alcatraz Island
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$201.75*
and up
Alcatraz Admission and Wine Country Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Park rangers conduct tours by recounting the prison's thrilling history along with intriguing anecdotes about Al Capone and other legendary figures that made a "home" here.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome! Great Trip for the Money!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The history was truly fun, educational, informative. Great Ferry ride, history tales, the true picture of early history of the country.
Very happy to have visited this historical site! Great for Family. Very Safe! Parent with child too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walnut206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40,957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30,346
    8,751
    1,455
    219
    186
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome, must-do experience”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The night tour was just incredible. We had a full moon, so it was extra eerie. This was definitely the coolest audio tour I've ever done in my life (and I've done them around the world). I didn't do any of the extra programs (my dad is a smoker so we had to spend the last 45 minutes down at the dock in the smoking section), but definitely make sure you venture up to the hospital ward - it's just before the dining hall on the left. Dad & I found it amusing that it's a felony to take rocks off of "The Rock," but you can certainly pay $10 for them in the museum shop. If you're going to do it, do the night tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great outing”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Although the company has a monopoly on running trips to Alcatraz, they offer good value for money. Purchase your tickets the day before you want to go as it's very popular. The crowds are shepherded well and the free audio tours are excellent. Plan to spend at least half a day here and go on the earliest sailing of the day so you can see the island before it gets too busy....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thedeberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“kinda BORING but worth the experience to actually step on ALCATRAZ”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Boat ride to Alcatraz was fun and cold (as one would expect). The boat was sturdy and strong (well considering I have a fear of drowning condition). We weren't able to sit down so we went outside the deck and enjoyed the cold sea breeze and the scenery. The view of SF cityscape was magnificent! The flowers and landscape of Alcatraz island was beautiful. On the downside, the audio tour gets boring. I think it lasts more or less 45mins of walking round and round the prison and if you didn't food with you, you'd get really hungry (no food store available in the island). But still worth the experience to say '[your name] was here (in ALCATRAZ)'

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank maia_alazne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Night tour”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Book your night tours early. We liked the tour a lot as it is informative and offers a scenic view of San Francisco city / Golden Gate Bridge.

We rate audio tour the full stars but the movies, well I fell asleep probably due to jetlag.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank funnyloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcatraz Island also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Alcatraz Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing