We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Acatraz”
Review of Alcatraz Island

Alcatraz Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Two-Day Hop-On Hop-Off Alcatraz and San Francisco Highlights Package
More Info
$145.00*
and up
San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz
More Info
$142.00*
and up
North Beach Culinary Experience and Alcatraz Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Park rangers conduct tours by recounting the prison's thrilling history along with intriguing anecdotes about Al Capone and other legendary figures that made a "home" here.
Canton Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Visiting Acatraz”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Man, I'm glad I reserved tickets on line. We opped for the 2:45 tour and that was a good choice as it gave the day time to warm up and clear off.The tour really shouldn't be missed but plan to spend most of the day and make sure you arrive at least 30 minutes early.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank herbbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41,731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30,932
    8,904
    1,478
    225
    192
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting history and lovely views”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The boat ride is well organized, is 15 minutes at most and offers great views of SF and the GG bridge. The walk up the hill is not as hard as advertised as the walkways are on gentle slopes, in three sections. The introductory moive is a must-see to get a feel for Alcatraz and I suggest taking the audio guide. It is very well done with anecdotes about various prisoners. Near the end of the tour, I walked through and sat out on the terrace to hear the rest of the audio tour. The air, sun and view were wonderful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Booky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must do!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Take the evening tour - gives extra atmosphere and a night view of San Francisco. A very interesting trip

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great excursion for the whole family”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Buy tickets way in advance. Our whole family enjoyed this tour, especially our boys! Walking around the prison with the headphones on listening to all the stories, you felt the prisoners presence!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 60Dave60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Nervous!!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is my third visit to SF but ever visited Alcatraz had the terrible fear of being locked in or left by the boat, but so glad that I eventually got the courage to go and visit because it was very very interesting and well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellerIlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcatraz Island also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Alcatraz Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing