We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Assab Eritrean

Assab Eritrean
Ranked #2,399 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Danville, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, very friendly staff. While they have wonderful vegetarian options, we went with a combination of beef and chicken, which were wonderfully spicy and a great compliment to the side dishes that came with the meal. The injera, the spongy "pancake" was wonderful - light and tasty. I only wish they had more tables for two or a larger space so as to reduce the wait time - though the good was worth the wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tasteful”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Assab is a very small family run restaurant that serves very good and very taste Eritrean food. The lamb and potato dish #8 is perhaps one of my favorites and usually enough to satisfy someone looking for a quick bite to eat off Geary Blvd

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flowerbloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Spicy Ethiopian Cuisine”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

A wonderful experience with some spicy and mouth watering food. Suggested by a friend but the visit was worth it. It also has a very warm and ethnic look . A small space which should expand as there was a long wait and it would be good to make prior bookings.

It had a great variety of food with unique spices, blend of Moroccan & Indian taste. It would be great to revisit the place. In addition to that, it is managed by a couple who were really warm people.

Enjoy some mouth watering in a great pallet!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
253 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good restaurant for Eritrean/Ethiopian Food”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have been here a number of times over the last 3 years. We landed here after trying at least 3 other places in San Francisco and have decided to come back here as a staple for Eritrean food.
Food: The food is good. There are a large variety of vegetarian dishes, as well as, meat (beef, chicken and lamb) dishes that are well prepared. The injeera bread is well made, soft and moist, they do not over cook and dry it out like some other places. Our favorite are the chickpeas (Shiro), lentils (Bersin, get the brown and red), okra, sambusas (both vegetarian and beef) and the zigni beef. They have Ethiopian beer that is nice with the food, but the wine list is very poor.
Atmosphere: The atmosphere is suitable, everything is clean and comfortable. This is like a nicer local restaurant.
Service: The service is average to poor. They are slow and understaffed. However, when they get to you they are extremely polite and go out of their way to keep you happy. They never strive to push you out which makes the experience enjoyable.
Overall, we like this restaurant as it has decent service and good food. We can recommend this place.

Tip: Have an early dinner here as they are always crowded, this avoids getting frustrated when they are busy later at night. Make reservations, as they will save you a table, they tend to have long waits if you walk in.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, MV
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Ethiopian food in SF with friendly service”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Wonderfully spiced, generous portions, moderately priced, clean and pleasant surroundings with attentive service. We enjoyed it even more than our favorite Ethiopian restaurant in the East Bay.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MVSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assab Eritrean also viewed

 

Been to Assab Eritrean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing