We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brewery tour”

Anchor Brewing Company
Ranked #22 of 544 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We offer guided public tours every day, by reservation only. You’ll get a brief history of our company and a walk through three floors of our brewery. And yes, there’s a tasting session immediately to follow. Together, the brewery tour and the beer tasting last for about 1.5 hours. Due to popular demand, we are not able to accommodate you for a tour without reservations. Public Tour schedule: Mon.-Thur.: 11:00 AM & 2:00 PM Fri.-Sun.: 11:00 AM, 2:00 PM, & 5:00 PM Available for private group tours: Mon.-Thur.: 3:30 PM or 6:00 PM
North Ferrisburgh, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brewery tour”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent tour. Took a reservation 4 months in advance- well worth it. Very informative and very relaxing during the tasting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    31
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour, free, a bit loud and crowded but MUST DO”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was so surprised when I read on the website that there is a waiting list at times to get in this place for a tour. Well, after going on the tour I can completely understand why. and to think that I wasn't going to fit this tour in my vacation planning!

Anchor Steam has a great touring experience. They have a tasting room, take you around the entire facility, including the bottling area, which is a wonderful treat, and rare for many places. Its loud but really exciting to watch.
Our tour guide, Jarett, was kind and hospitable. There were many people on the tour, so at points crowded, but not uncomfortable. There are many photos on the walls and lots of fun things to photograph, the Maytag history is not lost with the new ownership. We got to try many beers in the tasting room when the tour was complete. They have a couple of things that are only sold onsite, which is nice to get for gifts. I'd love to visit SFO again just to visit Anchor Steam.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elk555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brilliant tour”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The tour was exactly the right length of time and very informative. Best of all, it's free and a decent amount of beer is offered to taste. What more could you ask for. The guide was entertaining and was extremely friendly. Yes you have to book in advance and its a 20 minute bus ride from downtown however these are only minor points and anyone who has any sense will already have booked before they turn up for the tour. I don't think it can be compared to the bigger breweries as its only a micro brewery and you wouldn't expect it to be able to offer tours throughout the day, especially when they are free. A brilliant start to our trip in SF and recommend to anyone travelling here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“MUST DO in San Fran”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was a terrific tour during our recent trip to San Francisco. We do like beer, a lot, but this was informative, CLEAN, witty & delicious. Great history here and a great beer. Make sure to reserve months in advance as we were told they fill up fast. FREE tour with very generous tastings. I'm a fan of ANCHOR now!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome tour!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been road-trippin' to Frisco for years! i love BEER, especially microbrews! I don't know why I haven't visited Anchor Steam Brewery till now. FREE tour & Beer Tasting! What?!?! WOW! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! If you are visiting Frisco, this place is a must see! You get a historical tour of the brewery. We also took our wedding guests to this Free Brewery tour. Everyone had a great time. You can only make reservations for 10 ppl/ person. They give you a tour on all the 4 floors. We had a blasts!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dafilpsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing