We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Miss This Tour”

Anchor Brewing Company
Ranked #24 of 529 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We offer guided public tours every day, by reservation only. You’ll get a brief history of our company and a walk through three floors of our brewery. And yes, there’s a tasting session immediately to follow. Together, the brewery tour and the beer tasting last for about 1.5 hours. Due to popular demand, we are not able to accommodate you for a tour without reservations. Public Tour schedule: Mon.-Thur.: 11:00 AM & 2:00 PM Fri.-Sun.: 11:00 AM, 2:00 PM, & 5:00 PM Available for private group tours: Mon.-Thur.: 3:30 PM or 6:00 PM
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Anchor Brewing Company tour is an intimate affair that you need to make prior reservations for (visit the website for details). The small group is led on a 45 minute tour of the cleanest brewery that I have ever toured. The tour ends with a 45 minute beer tasting session in their tap room. You are able to sample every beer that they brew. By the end of the tour, California Common "Steam Beer" will be one of your favorites. Make this tour part of your San Francisco experience. You won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerning-Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    31
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Anchor Brewery Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Recommended! This was my first time in SF and I manage to squeeze this sight among all the other favourites (Pier 39, Alcatraz, Golden Bridge, etc). No regrets there, pretty informative and lovely bar! Shame its not open all day!!! Tried all different beers available. What a treat. Oh yeah book in advance and if not driving :0 give yourself plenty of time to get there

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank blavvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Book weeks in advance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just done this tour last Friday and was impressed. After the tour, generous samples are offered which in a large group can take some time to go through the roughly eight samples. Gift items also available ie. ball caps, tumblers, aprons and t-shirts. Just remember to book weeks in advance if coming to the Bay area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank willys6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good smelly Brew”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you like Anchor Steam beer, which is dark and rich and hoppy, then you will like taking a tour of the brewery. The business is owned by Fritz Maytag, an excellent guy all around. If you don't like smelly beer - well it goes without saying.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravisVanBrasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West U.S.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brewery tour fan finds tour average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hey, I love Anchor Steam Beer, its totally unique and like Guinness, seems to get better the closer you get to the source, usually a bar in the Mission. The tour guide was actually really really good, passionate and knowledgeable like only a true geek can be. But the building and the two or three rooms you go to have very little to offer in the was of history, atmosphere or charm. I can only figure they get such good ratings based on three things: its free, you get to drink about two pints worth at the end, the reviewers have not been on a really good tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing