We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty darn good”
Review of In-N-Out Burger

In-N-Out Burger
Ranked #196 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Being from the East coast, I heard about this place, saw it on television, but never experienced it until coming to San Francisco. When I did there was a line outside the door that was fast and the crew quite efficient. I ordered a cheeseburger, fries and a vanilla shake. I have to say everything was very tasty! The shake was so thick and the fries were actually better than McDonalds (not as salty). The burger...perfectly sloppy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    543
    299
    107
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Believe the hype?”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Heard LOTS about in-n-out burger and being from the uk we had to try it.
Had to say it was a very good burger but not as exceptional as I was lead to believe. Everything was fresh and the service was quick, and it's good value for money. I would visit again. It's certainly better than a McDs or a Burger King.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Happylady-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Richmond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best fast food burgers (actually a tie with Nation's Giant)”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the only fast food burger chain we eat at anymore, except sometimes we go to Nation's Giant Burgers in the San Francisco East Bay Area. Nation's makes large burgers, In-N-Out makes smaller ones. Hard to pick which is tastiest but Nation's also has pie, which I like to avoid, so we usually go to In-N-Out.

They have a very simple menu, basically burgers (single, double, cheese, etc.) and fries and drinks and shakes, all of which are top quality. McDonald's tastes like garbage after eating at In-N-Out. They apparently also pay their people better than the usual minimum wage for fast food workers. A really great place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good burger. ”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Being from the east coast, I had heard of In-N-Out burger but never had the chance try. VERY good burger, plenty of fries. Hate to admit it, but didn't need to stress the food budget everyday. A great substitute.

Helpful?
Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had heard of this legendary chain resto but had never visited one in my travels. My teenaged son wanted a late night snack so we grabbed a cheeseburger, hamburger, shake and a milk. Everything was fresh and very tasty. Our order was even presented well in the tray. Service was top notch and fast. All for under $10. Should not have waited so long to eat here! It must have the red and yellow colour scheme that held me back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LikethetripFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In-N-Out Burger also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to In-N-Out Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing