We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and ease” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grumpy White's Restaurant

Grumpy White's Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 274 Restaurants in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfort and ease”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you are in the Quincy area, find Grumpy's and be happy! There is the usual good assortment of entres, a lot of choices with fish ... but it's those dishes you used to have at home years ago that tugs at you. Mac & cheese can be a main or a side dish, then there is that American Chop Suey that I haven't seen on a menu anywhere in years! A wide variety of burgers and sandwiches are available if you don't want a huge mealI loved their seafood and make sure I always stop there when I'm visiting the area. The service is fast and friendly and the prices are well within reason. You will find something yummy for your tummy here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    9
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, Vermont
Level Contributor
272 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Your Go-To Place for Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Grumpy's doesn't do everything well, but they do some things VERY well. For instance, you don't want to order vegetables here. Or you don't want to come here if you're on a diet. But for old-fashioned, straight ahead, artery-clogging American classics, Grumpy's can't be beat.

Included in this category are fried haddock, french fries, meat loaf, mac & cheese, lobster roll, fried chicken, and burgers. Eating at the bar is great if you are into the Sox, Celts, or Broons, and the window into local, South Shore (pronounced Show-wah) culture is as clear as you'll find anywhere. A special tip of the hat to Grumpy's waitresses, who tend to be a little rough around the edges, but the proverbial hearts of gold. They remind me of the waitresses at Durgin Park, but without the surliness.

This is not the place for the romantic evening out or the seeker of culinary adventure, but it's the perfect place for anyone who doesn't want to go home hungry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StepMorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I feel that Grumpy White's has one of the best Lobster Rolls I've had anywhere, and I've eaten them all over New England. The macaroni and cheese is great too, and once I had a Quint Burger (five patties) which probably was not the healthiest choice, but delicious.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DarthMacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stopped in here by chance and I'm really glad I did! The burgers are amazing, service is prompt but with attitude! Varied menu and great beer selection!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooblackdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old School Quincy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Came in for the first time for dinner with a party of 6, happened to be the day of the marathon bombings. The place was crowded but the wait was no longer than 10 minutes. Our waitress was efficient and hurried but not rude at all. Four out of the six at our table ordered burgers and all were VERY satisfied, they also loved the onion rings AND the fries. My husband ordered the buffalo chicken sandwich which he LOVED as well. I think I ordered wrong with the turkey dinner. The mashed potato and stuffing all seemed homemade and tasted great, the gravy was also good. My problem was with the turkey. It seemed fresh and was plentiful but was sliced like deli meat turkey at the grocery store, which made me think of that kind of turkey even though I don't THINK that's what it was!
Overall it was a good place to feed a large group with solid, filling well made food, especially the burgers!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rushmore45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grumpy White's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Grumpy White's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing